We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressed.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge London Southwark

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Travelodge London Southwark to your Saves list
Travelodge London Southwark
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   202-206 Union Street | Southwark, London SE1 0LH, England (London Bridge)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Saver rooms available
Ranked #281 of 1,065 Hotels in London
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Impressed.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Simple, Cheap, Spotlessly clean and has very helpful and polite staff.

Very close to the Southwark Tube Station as well as many cafe's and little bars.

Will be on the cards for our next visit.

Only downside is the free wifi is good for Facebook, twitter and iMessage only as its a very poor signal.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

695 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    278
    287
    79
    32
    19
See reviews for
240
211
20
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
167 helpful votes 167 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

All reception staff were very efficient and friendly.
Check-in was really easy and hotel provides a free baggage drop for arrival/departure.
Communal areas and the room/ensuite were clean and tidy.
The family room was very spacious with basic furniture, coffee/tea facilities, a tv, a comfortable bed with good pillows, but the children's beds (a sofa and a seperate rolleraway) were quite hard. We had a great view of the Shard. We were adjacent to railway tracks, but the double glazing kept the noise to a minimum. However, the pipework in the hotel can be quite noisey at times. The air conditioning was an added bonus in August.
There is a small shop adjacent to hotel which we used for supplies.
Southwark tube station is a 2 minute walk
Central London ie: Big Ben, Westminster etc is a leisurely 20 minute walk along the vibrant South Bank which has loads of cafes/restaurants etc along the way.
All this for £86 for 2 adults and 2 children for 2 nights including early check-in fee - unbeatable!
We personally prefer to spend our hard earned money on nice meals and enjoying the sights and sounds of London as we use the hotel room just to sleep in and freshen up.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Mids
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for one night during a weekend break in London.
First impressions were basic hotel, and was quite daunting as this was the first budget accomadation I had ever stayed in.
As soon as we got to reception to check in, the desk staff were so pleasant and polite, very helpful letting us store our bags as we had arrived too early for check out.

The tube station is a two minute walk down the road with Waterloo being one stop away.

A 24 hour shop next to the hotel provided snacks and was so very convienient.

Rooms were good size, big, comfy bed and adequate shower.

Staff were immense! Never come across such smiley, helpful and polite members of staff - this alone sold the hotel to me and I will surely come again.

Breakfast was hearty and well cooked with plenty of choice.

I really like this place. ;D

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Normal Travelodge format but service good, room nice and clean and easy walking distance to London attractions. Great value on Sunday nights but beware as lots of pubs and eating places away from main tourist attractions closed on Sunday evening. Easy walk from Waterloo station and if too early to check in they are very happy for you to drop bags off etc. All staff very pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryde, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Best Travelodge have ever stayed in. Four of us in family room for two nights in August. Surprisingly central for south of the river. Tube 200 yards, one stop to Waterloo. Walked to Tate Modern then over foot bridge to St Pauls. Proper cooked buffet breakfast. Room faultless. Will definitely go back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

I booked this travelodge as a last minute weekend getaway to london. The location is excellent just a few minutes walk from southwark tube station, and there are a few nice bars and restaurants near to the hotel. The travelodge itself was spotless and recently refurbished to the new style rooms. The bed itself was comfortable and the shower room adequate, however one gripe the shower pressure was poor and the pipes squeaked when guests in other rooms turned on showers/taps. Having not stayed in a travelodge for a while I was very impressed with this hotel and I think travelodge should use this hotel as an example to there other hotels that have fallen way behind on even the basics. I would defiantly stay here again excellent base for exploring London.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Stayed in Southwark hotel during Aug weekend. Opted for this hotel due to it's proximity to London Eye , which is 10-12 mins walk passing some nice relaxed pubs.

The hotel is nice, won't too posh with comfy beds. I always stay in Premier INNs but now may change my habbit as I found trevlodge provides same kind of comforts with few things miss. But looking at cost difference these hardly matter. I mean who wants to pay colorful room with lotion and potions in bathroom for an addition of £30.

The breakfast was hot and nice and so was the dinner. I ordered Half roast that was bit dry but manageable , the tandoori vegs were good. The hotel is next to Southwark station giving easy access to Underground network.


Recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge London Southwark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge London Southwark

Address: 202-206 Union Street | Southwark, London SE1 0LH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > London Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#98 Best Value Hotel in London
#131 Family Hotel in London
#260 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge London Southwark 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Otel, TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your Travelodge London Southwark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge London Southwark Hotel London
London Travel Lodge
London Travelodge
Travelodge London Southwark England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge London Southwark, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.