We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another excellent stay up in London” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Victory Services Club

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in London
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Victory Services Club
Save
You added Victory Services Club to your Saves list
63-79 Seymour Street, London, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 692 Specialty Lodging in London
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Another excellent stay up in London”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

As always, the VSC maintined its excellent standards and value for money. Had to change the original day, but as always it was no problem for the staff to sort out. As an ex-military person, this has to be one of the best value places to stay in London.
Well done again to the staff.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    242
    130
    22
    6
    7
See reviews for
84
131
54
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Ramsgate, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

I could find no faults with the club. From the moment I was met at the door to the moment I left, I was treated with courtesy. The front of house staff were always ready to help and the only complaint I had( my TV didn't work properly) was dealt with promptly..
The food was excellent but a little pricey but then I was in Central London. The waitresses were efficient and attentive. The bedroom was comfortableand everything I needed was to hand. It was very quiet in the Centenary Wing. The prices were reasonable and the facilities were excellent.
On leaving, I was asked if I needed a taxi and one was made available as soon as I reached the door. I thorughly enjoyed my stay there and hope to go again soon.

Room Tip: Book early ! Try for rooms in he Centenary Wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
62 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Stayed at the VSC for 7 nights in the older wing (Memorial Wing) of the club. Reservations staff were extremely helpful during the booking process.

Arrived in the early hours of the morning before the published check-in time so my room was not ready, however the staff were extremely helpful in accommodating me with a shower so I could freshen up after the long flight from Australia.

The facilities were basic but, you have to remember what the VSC is, it’s a club not a standard hotel and it’s all about value for money. The rooms in the older wing are very plain but functional. The beds are a little on the small side, and the plastic sheet under the bottom sheet is a little odd. Do they get a lot of guests with bladder problems?

Location of the club is fantastic, and this makes it a very good base to get around Central London. The other guests staying in the club I met were all friendly and were of all ages, ranks, and included both current and ex-serving members of various nations.

The Lounge Bar staff were friendly and helpful and the food was good.

As mentioned by other posters, I feel that some staff could really be a little bit more welcoming and less surly. You would think being a club it would have a different feel with its customer service than the big chain hotels, however it was really lacking by some of the front desk and concierge staff.

I am glad I am a member, and I will more than likely stay here again on my next UK trip, however will make sure I book the new Centenary Wing rooms.

Room Tip: Stay in the new wing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Booked a room on return from Afghanistan using their reduced rates for those returning from overseas within the last 6 months, website stated "A letter of proof of Service in Theatre on headed paper, signed by your Unit Admin Officer, is required on all bookings" so turned up with such a letter only to be told it wasn't good enough as it didn't have the specific day I returned to the UK, only the month.

As a result I was expected to pay double the price and get the letter re-written (by a senior ranking officer who would be on post tour leave at home with their family) and returned to them within 5 days for a partial refund.

Rude staff who obviously don't have a clue how the military function, ended up having to find another hotel for the night.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VSCMarketing, Assistant Marketing Manager at Victory Services Club, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
We are very sorry that you had a disappointing stay at the VSC, and take your comments very seriously.

Our Operations Manager, Mark Field would like to speak with you to discuss the matter please could you kindly contact him at the Club.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wilts
Level Contributor
55 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We stayed here for one night at the same time as my parents who are members. Both rooms were extremely comfortable doubles, with a spotless en suite, in the obviously refurbished section of the building. Great location close to Paddington Station and transport links all over London. Great breakfast, although the breakfast room downstairs was extrenely busy and canteen like. They had just had a function so there were a lot of people staying at the weekend. My parents have been using this for years as their home from home whenever they go to London, but this was my first time. I think the price compares very favourably with other London hotels and it certainly has a friendly and safe atmosphere. Would be happy to stay here on my own.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Would have liked to have given a better rating. The staff were excellent, friendly, courteous and helpful. We attended a function which was really well organized. The venue was superb and the food great, served quickly and efficiently. Breakfast is served from 7am till 10 with a fine range of choices. The whole was let down by the bedroom. The bed was comfortable but the decor was tired and the bathroom was dated and in urgent need of refitting. Traffic noise was a problem all night and the banging of wardrobe doors at 5 am in the next room didn't help.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

I usually stay at one of the Millennium Hotels in South Ken when I visit London, but welcomed the opportunity to try the VSC with my husband who is US Army. My mother in law had 1 room in the older wing, and we had 1 in the new and each was wonderfully clean, nicely appointed, with nice decor and the amenities were above what we had anticipated. The staff went OUT OF THEIR WAY in friendliness and helpfulness, and the neighborhood felt homey within a day - complete with 'our' local just a few blocks away (recommended by the amazing concierge). The public rooms are done beautifully modern though not sterile at all, and the food in the dining room was lovely and not stuffy. The bar was a highlight - where we felt a special connection since it's all service members. A wonderful stay, and now it's our place in London when we plan our next trip!

Room Tip: Ask for the Centenary Wing and book far, far in advance!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Marylebone
The Sumner Hotel
The Sumner Hotel
#101 of 1,052 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 1,280 reviews
Marylebone
The Montcalm London
The Montcalm London
#11 of 1,052 in London
5.0 of 5 stars 732 reviews
Marylebone
The Arch London
The Arch London
#9 of 1,052 in London
5.0 of 5 stars 1,131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
Marriott London Park Lane
Marriott London Park Lane
#91 of 1,052 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victory Services Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victory Services Club

Address: 63-79 Seymour Street, London, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 692 Specialty Lodging in London
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Victory Services Club (VSC) is a Tri-Service, all ranks, Members Club for retired and serving members of the Armed Forces. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Victory Services Club Hotel London
Victory Services Club London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Victory Services Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.