We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish I'd thought of it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ring

The Ring
72 Blackfriars Rd, London SE18Ha, England (Waterloo / South Bank / Southwark)
02076200811
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2,884 of 17,929 Restaurants in London
Cuisines: Hamburgers, Bar, Fish & Chips, Hot Dogs
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night
Neighborhood: Waterloo / South Bank / Southwark
Description: Famously situated opposite the site of the historic home of British boxing and sharing its name, this compact pub certainly punches above its weight. Pictures of the men who boxed at The Ring and went on to become World, European and British Champions adorn the walls. There's plenty of seating outside the pub, which is directly opposite Southwark tube station and acts as a great focal point, landmark and meeting place right on the corner of Blackfriars Road and The Cut. The Ring boasts a great selection of Lagers, Real ales and Craft beers as well as a delectable food menu including BIG APPLE HOTDOGS which are hand-made in London using only natural casings and quality ingredients, using free range pork and prime beef! Award winning Home made Burgers, Scotch Eggs, Nachos and Fish and Chips. We look forward to seeing you at The Ring.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Wish I'd thought of it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

Found this place on trip advisor went along to see if it was good as the reviews and its better!
Great hot dogs, great chip and great onion rings.
Very resonably priced and a nice atmosphere, we will defiantly be going again!!
Worth a visit!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    35
    11
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great Pub, Food and Vibe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Popped into The Ring with my girlfriend on the way to The Tate Modern. Its right across the road from Southwark tube. It became the main event of the day haha. Such a friendly atmosphere in this cool popular bar; we loved all the London history on the walls. I had an amazing burger but my girlfriend had what may have been the best hotdog I ever tasted. Will def be going back soon...

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Rock, Texas, United States
1 review
“Awesome Pub, great 'Dogs!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

I was in town on business from Texas and discovered The Ring on my way to The Tate Modern. Conveniently, it's right across from the tube.
I travel a lot and had one of the best hot dogs I can remember combined with a nice pint of ale. This pub is very popular, and for good reason. The atmosphere was very pleasant as were the staff.
I'm also a sports fanatic, so that aspect was cool. They took some time designing the interior details. Everything I look for in a pub. I'll be back!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Tasty hot dogs!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Loved the handmade sausage in the delicious hot dogs! Other meals fine and service good though could have been quicker. Outside seating and benches inside. Pub style with plenty if beer on tap.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sussex
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“BEST HOTDOG EVER”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

Found this pace by accident on the way to Southwark tube station (which is right opposite) - a bit peckish and fancied a quick snack on a lovely sunny Sunday afternoon. Opted for the 'Big 'Frank' and it was amazing - better than the one we had in Madison Square Gardens earlier this year. Give it a go - you won't be disappointed!!!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Ring also viewed

 

Been to The Ring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ring, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.