We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A staple of Camden Town, nice setting and great value food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Karavas

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Karavas
87 Plender St, London, England (Camden)
(020)-7388-4121
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6,178 of 17,879 Restaurants in London
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Camden
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
“A staple of Camden Town, nice setting and great value food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We have been coming to Karavas for many years now, mostly as a dinner venue, where the mezze is incomparable, with a multitude of great dishes coming all night long. It is open late, can be very lively and has many happy memories for myself and my family. They do a mezze very well, also the traditional dishes such as Sheftalia and the stifado. The doors open out so that on a summer night the balmy air of Plender Street can be savoured under the stars. Well, nearly.....it's always interesting, anyway.
But lunch has become the revelation here. They have started serving a really good value lunch - two courses, starter and main for just £5.90- a selection of hot and cold starters, then a good choice of mains. On this particular lunch time, we were cold, as it was horrible and windy outside. So my husband and I shared the hot starters of vine leaves and meatballs. They were superb, and the waiter had added two or three little dishes, olives, pitta bread, beetroot and potato salad.
For the main, we both chose chicken souvlaki but there was moussaka, and a lovely vegetarian dish I had tried before. The portions are big, and the quality excellent. This lunch time deal is a great idea, and we are all raving about it. With two Keo beers this came to less than 25 quid which is a lovely way to spend your lunchtime. Karavas, you have transformed and this is how you survive!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    12
    2
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cheshunt
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“AMAZING”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Myself and my family had a meal at Karavas the service was amazing in this Greek restaurant. There was not many people but if your reading this review it is the best restaurant. Me and family have been going for years mostly for birthdays and mother's days. I gave this place 5 star because when i first walked in they were very attentive and they look after everyone's needs. If you are near plender st dont look at any other greek because nothing beats Karavas. GO KARAVAS !! Thank you for an excellent meal and an amazing night

Reviewed 16/03/13

Jamie

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hampshire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Very authentic and much better than the recent reviews!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

After reading some of the recent reviews we were a little dubious about visiting Karavas but were pleasantly surprised. Whilst the interior of the restaurant is is not as deluxe as some Greek restaurants we have visited in London it is actually very authentic and similar to many eateries we visited in Greece last summer. The staff were friendly and attentive. There was a good selection on the menu and we all had different thing. The portions were generous and we were all happy with our meals. There were some very nice added touches including complimentary nibbles at the beginning and end of our meal.
Excellent value and well worth a visit.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Avoid this overpriced and mediocre restaurant.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Rubbery squid, sour tasting prawns. We complained and were not offered a replacement nor was anything taken off our bill. Not surprised this place was nearly empty on a Friday evening. Many much better Greek restaurants in the area. Avoid this one..

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“WORST GREEK MEAL WE'VE EVER HAD.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

All food overcooked even rice and halloumi deepfried. No prawns and 1 sardine each with fish meze. Frozen calamaris and no dalmadis with meat meze. No potatoes and Keo 6 quid a bottle. worst attempt at a Greek meal i've ever had the misfortune to try. Absolutely terrible...

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Karavas also viewed

 
London, England
 

Been to Karavas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Karavas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.