We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor service for this price!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bald Faced Stag

Bald Faced Stag
69 High Road, London N2 8AB, England
+44 20 8442 1201
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Bald Faced Stag is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8,087 of 17,931 Restaurants in London
Cuisines: British, Bar, Gastropub, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Description: The Bald Faced Stag is currently undergoing refurbishments to the garden and dining room but we are still serving a selection of great food and drinks in the bar area until August 3rd. We wil return on August 22nd 2014 with Light airy new decor Refurbished Garden including Indoor/Outdoor dining New menus New events New private dining and function spaces Keep and eye on Facebook and Twitter BALDFACEDSTAGN2 for all the details and be sure to visit us soon.
London
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Poor service for this price!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

This was a pricey night for 6 people. The food was not too bad at all and nice concept of open type cooking. Bar was packed solid on a Friday night. It could have done without the piped music, particularly looking at the age group. Very noisy restaurant which seems to have no sound deadening qualities and therefore everyone was competing to speak and hence the volume rose continually throughout the evening. The big problem though was the service. It was poor throughout the meal. It is not acceptable at these sort of prices particularly with the addition of a service charge! I did ask if there was a manager, not to complain but as a matter of interest and was told she was on a day off. Well that figured! Surely there must be other people capable of looking after front of house? If not then the service charge should be removed and the menu prices substantially reduced! The whole business with the waitresses was rush-rush and trying to attract the waitresses attention failed for the most part. The bill payment was snatched from the table as in a manner befitting a burger bar. I wonder if the problem is the old equation of amount charged to customer does not square with the amount paid to waiting staff! Peanuts and monkeys spring to mind. However, The Bald Faced Stag creeps into the average bracket from poor as the ale was very well kept and not the usual bland stuff also the food was fair quality. Overall I would give it another go as I think they have the right idea and I would like to see it succeed. 10/10 for the Camden Ale!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBaldFacedStagN2, Manager at Bald Faced Stag, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
I'm very sorry that you were told I wasn't available to speak to you, I would certainly have been working if it was a Friday night that you visited and, if I wasn't available at the time (I may have been managing the bar area), another member of the management team should have been pointed out to you. It sounds like you have some really useful feedback that needs following up so I will message you directly and try to get to the bottom of what happened.
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review.
Jo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    28
    12
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“I've never eaten such a tasteless, overpriced roast”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

The roast is appalling. Gravy tastes like water. The meat is chewy and bland. The veg was overdone. The Yorkshire pudding was almost black. And it cost £14.50. Would rather have a wetherspoons

  • Visited February 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBaldFacedStagN2, Manager at Bald Faced Stag, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
We're very sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your meal, it's extremely rare for us to get any complaints about our roast dinners so it really is a shame that your meal wasn't up to scratch on this occasion. Always feel free to say something whilst you're eating and we're very happy to replace any meals that aren't right, but on this occasion we'd also be very happy to invite you back for a complimentary meal to show you how great our roasts can be and make sure you feel that you got value for money. I will message you directly if you'd like to take us up on this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good Food great Service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

We met up with another another couple for drinks first and then a meal after a gruelling day round exhibitions in London and had a splendid evening. The beer was on form and the food was excellent with some interesting options on the menu. The staff are welcoming and efficient.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBaldFacedStagN2, Manager at Bald Faced Stag, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Thanks for your review, glad you had a good time. We have a new menu coming at the beginning of Feb so be sure to pop back and give it a try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
“Shut on Boxing Day - arranged to meet friends as was told open - thanks!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

We were told by bar staff that the pub was definitely open on Boxing Day - like every other pub in East Finchley on this traditional pub day. So we arranged to meet friends there for the evening, only to find the place was shut, with no notice of explanation. Why? What a way to treat customers! So we had to phone around and decamp to the White Lion, which was packed, including many Bald Faced Stag regulars who were annoyed for the same reason we were! Not a good way to run a pub.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBaldFacedStagN2, Manager at Bald Faced Stag, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
We were indeed open on Boxing Day, we had advertised that we would close at 8 but closed a little earlier in the end as we had had no bookings or enquiries for the evening and the staff who had, for the first time, had to work extremely hard on Christmas Day needed a well deserved early night. We're very sorry to have dissapointed you and will certainly take on board your point and advertise our opening hours more clearly next year. You would be very welcome to a drink on me for your inconvenience if you'd like to pop in again soon.
Jo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Christmas lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

Could not find one fault, the service was fantastic, the table was fantastic, the food was fantastic from starter to dessert! What more can one say, simply put this place is a gem, ideal for family and I hope the restaurant maintains these high standards with food and staff as it is faultless.

Would recommend highly

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBaldFacedStagN2, Manager at Bald Faced Stag, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
What a lovely review, thank you very very much, that will be a great reward to the staff who worked very hard and gave up their Christmas Day. We very much enjoyed serving all the lovely customers we had on the day and hope to see you again soon.
Jo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bald Faced Stag also viewed

 
London, England
London, England
 

Been to Bald Faced Stag? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bald Faced Stag, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.