We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Megaro

Save Saved
You added Hotel Megaro to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Megaro
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Belgrove Street | St. Pancras, London WC1H 8AB, England (Camden / Primrose Hill)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #263 of 1,073 hotels in London
Canberra
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Stayed here to catch an early Eurostar - the location is perfect for that and the price was reasonable for London. We had a large room and bathroom. We opted for a room with a view rather than a "quiet" room. Although overlooking a busy road we weren't disturbed by the noise. The hotel is only a few minutes walk from the British Library. The only downside was that the free wifi was unreliable.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

895 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    415
    355
    77
    36
    12
See reviews for
196
378
85
137
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights before taking eurostar to Paris.It is the perfect hotel for this.
The rooms a compact but perfectly formed and designed.The only downside was the surrounding area was a bit dicey but that is not the fault of the hotel rather Camden Council.The staff were great,very helpful and if you need to store luggage,use Access storage directly opposite hotel,much more reasonable than St.Pancras.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton Park, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We were visiting from NY, so we wanted to stay at a hotel that was near an Underground station. The Megaro is seconds away from the stations at Kings Cross (a must visit if you're a Harry Potter fan) and St. Pancras, so even when it was raining, we were only steps from our hotel. We reserved a "family room" which consisted of a Queen bed and two trundle beds. The service was good; we had an issue with the AC and it was handled remotely(!) by the front desk. We brought adapters, but, of course, we plugged in a power strip that immediately blew out the lights. This was remedied very quickly and professionally (as if we weren't the first ones). We used the restaurant once for breakfast, and it was ok; I think we're just not used to the British style of food. I required a taxi to drop off my daughter at college, and one was ordered quickly. The downside was the wifi -- I think it was down for more than half of our week's stay. Close to McDonald's and Burger King (if that's you're preference). An excellent stay and I would return.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked St. Pancras, but it was mostly construction. There is an elevator (lift), so do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

Perfect position. Great breakfast menu. Staff are very helpful, polite and professional. Room size and facilities were excellent. We couldn't fault any aspect of our stay. Would highly recommend this hotel to anyone. Top marks to the management snd staff.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Cambridge
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

The location of this hotel is superb for St. Pancras, Kings' Cross as well as the London underground network.

We were greeted with a warm welcome from the check-in staff as soon as we walked into the lobby. The lobby was quite small and was dominated by a pair of ugly enormous "black sofas"(just a comment ). We were given a fairly small room which was very well equipped - coffee making machine, kettle, comfortable bed and good clean bathroom.
I would definite use this hotel again if I am in central London.

Room Tip: Probably rooms facing away from Euston Road
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Megaro Hotel is a gem. Nestled right on the corner of a very busy and popular intersection and across the road from kings cross.

We dropped off our luggage early (They have a special storage section for travelers) and spent the day walking/tubing around London/Westminster and Kings Cross.

All staff were competent and polite and very professional. The room service was quick and food very tasty. (Mac and Cheese, delicious!)

The standard room (to us) was more than standard, nice a spacious, large king sized bed, clean linen and goose/duck down pillows. Lovely chase lounge and plenty of storage and hanging space.

Large TV, with cable (ALL channels) and free wifi. Coffee machine in the room with quality coffee and plenty of tea, sugar and milk to last the night. Bathroom was fantastic, large shower and bath with an amazing shower head/pressure. Quality bath products and fluffy, large bath sheets/towels.

Overall this hotel is worth the cost, however I would recommend asking for either a room away from the main street or bring a set of earplugs as the sirens (ambulance and police) fly past the room every hour or more. (We had earplugs).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SE England
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We were part of a family gathering for a wedding. The room was excellent with a view of St Pancras station. Some of the decor was a bit tired, but perfectly acceptable. What might have become a couple of irritating incidents were each resolved quickly by the friendly staff straight away - a plus and so no complaints. Breakfast is good, service is good, price is fair - no hesitation to recommend.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter at night, but rooms at the front have a wonderful view of the front of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Megaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Megaro

Address: Belgrove Street | St. Pancras, London WC1H 8AB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Camden / Primrose Hill , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#184 Luxury Hotel in London
#203 Business Hotel in London
#261 Romantic Hotel in London
#271 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Megaro 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You're a curious chap/lady. You want to stay somewhere central, in the most resurgent, vibrant part of London, ideally opposite a couple of stations that can take you just about anywhere in the city, the country or the continent. We don't blame you. Welcome to Megaro. We are more than a place to stay in the very heart of London; it's a hub of London culture and your personal gateway into what is, in our opinion, one of the coolest places in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Tingo, Venere, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Hotel Megaro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Megaro Hotel London
Hotel Megaro London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Megaro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.