We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Beauchamp

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added The Beauchamp to your Saves list
The Beauchamp
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   24-27 Bedford Place, London WC1B 5JH, England (Bloomsbury / Holborn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #309 of 1,065 Hotels in London
Manchester
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Superb staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2010

I stayed here 16/10/10 on a visit to London. The trip was a suprise for my partner and I had to contact the hotel the day before check in to make a few arrangments. The staff were extremely helpful in fulfilling my requests. Upon check in we were given an upgrade, this really made our stay. The staff are very friendly and are happy to help at all times. The rooms are decorated nicely and the beds are comfy. We stayed in a room facing the street and slept soundly. Continental breakfast is more than a enough with lots of choice, staff are yet again friendly and helpful. All in all a perfect retreat after a hard days sightseeing.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    194
    55
    31
    14
See reviews for
63
235
24
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
West Palm Beach, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2010

We stayed at The Beauchamp for 5 nights. They were very accomodating by giving us a room when we arrived early, but the room was in the basement and directly UNDER the front desk. So we awakened EARLY in the morning to the clomping of feet above us. A move to another room was the ticket. The place is really lovely. HOWEVER... on our next-to-the-last night there, the door to the room next door slammed again and again. I finally opened the door at 7AM to find a hotel employee with a vaccum... cleaning the room for a business meeting at 9AM. They apparently had to move the beds out of the room, hence the slamming doors. It is just awful to find a hotel that puts profit WAY above the comfort of their guests. I complained to the hotel manager to no avail. There were no apologies. Only an offer to move us to another room for our final night,. I cannot recommend this hotel to anyone. Please, do yourself a favor and stay far, far away.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex, England
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2010

The hotel’s location is excellent - in a quiet street close to the British Museum, but only a 15-20 minute walk to the bright lights and the shops. (The bus from the stop opposite the hotel will take you the length of Oxford Street.)

We paid for an Executive Double and got a large room with two king size beds and a good bathroom, overlooking the quiet gardens at the back of the hotel. A wander around showed that there were quite a few rooms at basement level, so it would be a good idea to check room location when booking. The room was spotlessly clean and nicely decorated in a modern style. There was also tea/coffee and a kettle and a couple of comfortable armchairs. A complimentary newspaper (The Independent) was included.

The staff were very friendly and helpful at all times.

Continental breakfast was included in our rate and was quite nice, but not worth the £17 charge if you are staying room only (£23 for a cooked breakfast). There were plenty of places close by, however, where breakfast could be found at reasonable rates.

We found the Sir John Soane museum nearby to be well worth a visit. About 10 minutes walk away it is full of interesting curiosities and entrance is free. The staff would be able to give directions.

Overall, we were very pleased with this hotel and would definitely stay again..

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2010

The location could not be better, near 3 tube stops and right around the corner from the British Museum. The hotel has clearly been recently remodeled, very nice new and modern. My room had a double bed, which was great, but it was a tight squeeze between the bed and the wall to walk to the other side of the room. That didn't bother me, though. Bed was very comfy and loved the flat screen tv. The bathroom was very spacious and had a tub! I got a great deal for this hotel, which made it even better. My room faced the street, which had some car noise. That doesn't bother me at all but if you need absolute silence I would request a room with a garden view. Breakfast was your standard continental fare which I'm always keeps me happy. Staff was friendly and helpful when I needed it.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2010

I had such great expectations for my first night in London, but was disappointed at the location of our room. We were told we were given an upgrade - well the upgrade was to a below floor room. Not sure where we were supposed to stay as you can't get any lower than this!! There was a bright light outside our window which shone all night into the room - couldn't block it out with curtains. We were conveniently located and the staff helpful, but other than that would not go back to this hotel. We could not turn off the fan in the bathroom and the bathroom door wouldn't close, so we had to wedge a pice of paper in the door to close it. The inroom service brochure was stained with water and we couldn't read the menu and asked for a fresh one, but this did not appear, so in all would not recommend.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, USA
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2010

I usually try to avoid smaller hotels but I may have to rethink that strategy. Even after two weary months on the road I had a delightful stay at the Beauchamp.

There are many hotels on Bedford Place, all seemingly built into apartment buildings. It seemed that I was actually walking between two or three buildings to get to my room, which was tucked away in an upper corner. The many doors and corridors meant that my section was only shared by one other room, making it one of the quietest stays I've had.

This area is remarkably quiet considering how convenient it was to central London. I was able to walk to almost all of my meetings. The only exception to this was the shouts and laughter from a group of revelers who seemed to come back around midnight every night to the building across the street.

I couldn't help but notice how overstaffed the hotel seemed to be. There were usually three people posted to the small reception and bar area, where one would certainly suffice. Anyway, they were all very friendly and helpful.

The biggest problem with this hotel is its absurd internet and phone charges. My rate included internet access, thankfully!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2010

We were informed on arrival on the Fri night that there was an issue with our room.
They put us in the Hotel next door for one night and we spent Sat / Sun in the Beauchamp.
They looked after us really well and I would not hesitate to go back.
The Hotel is very well placed for visiting London

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Beauchamp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beauchamp

Address: 24-27 Bedford Place, London WC1B 5JH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury / Holborn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#209 Luxury Hotel in London
#257 Business Hotel in London
#267 Family Hotel in London
#292 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Beauchamp 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, LondonMarketing.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Beauchamp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Beauchamp Hotel London
Beauchamp Hotel London
The Beauchamp London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Beauchamp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.