We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Used to be great avoid” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Prince Regent

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Prince Regent
69, Dulwich Road, London SE24 0NJ, England
Improve this listing
Ranked #12,268 of 17,879 Restaurants in London
Price range: $30 - $40
Cuisines: British, Pub
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Used to be great avoid”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

It's a shame as this you to be my local but a change in the management has really dragged this place down. The manager is rude and grumpy and walks around such a sullen face, get out of hospitality if you don't like it! They were unaccommodating when we turned up for a spot of lunch and the food is very average. Gone are the days of when they offered an interesting gastropub menu. My friends drink was collected and it was nearly half full. When we addressed the issue with staff we were offered the glass back which was now dirty from having been placed at the bottom of empty glasses, disgusting we could have been offered a replacement drink in return. I hope something here changes soon, in the meantime I'll be going elsewhere.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    8
    8
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Quality dining in a proper pub, great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

Came here after lido swim for Friday swim. Word needs to travel service was perfectly timed, attentive and authentic. Food lovely and hearty. Beer and cider great. Ambience super. Only nit pick hubby wanted more of a head, on his beer, but he is northern!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely pub, bad service for food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

This is a lovely pub, in a great stop with out side seating. It has a great selection of drinks and nice food. It insists on only table service, no outside food and taking it'self far too seriously in serving food

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great local pub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Love the Prince Regent, its just great local pub (shame I'm not a local, but its a definite incentive to venture down to South London!)
Great food, good value, great service, friendly staff.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Lovely food, nice atmosphere, dog friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Visited for lunch on Saturday and as always we were really impressed. This was our fourth visit and the food has been excellent on each occasion. The menu isn’t huge but there was a decent selection and all four of our main courses were very good. There are a couple of pubs to choose from in Herne Hill and we would always choose the Prince Regent thanks to quality of the food and the friendly atmosphere. The pub is dog friendly and the staff always make us feel really welcome. We have found that booking is needed on both Saturday and Sunday lunches.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Prince Regent also viewed

 
London, England
 

Been to The Prince Regent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Prince Regent, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.