We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pennisula Chinese Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Pennisula Chinese Restaurant
Holiday Inn Express Hotel, Bugsby Way, London SE10 0GD, England
020 8858 2028
Improve this listing
Ranked #8,481 of 16,892 restaurants in London
Restaurant details
Kent
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Reserved table for 9pm. Served quickly, food very tasty and reasonably priced. House white (bottle), starters for two, two mains and two side dishes - £49! Top quality food, not top London prices! Would definitely recommend.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

61% Recommend
    9
    15
    8
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
england
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Disgusting”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

I'm Chinese so I know my stuff, and the dim sum there is disgraceful. When I went there in February the food was cold, the mango pudding wasn't jelly-like enough and the tea had way too many leaves.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Just really good Chinese Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

Been coming here since the millennium. Always has a great meal regardless of food hygiene and restaurants name. The menu is more commercialized then it was but still very authentic. A touch of Chinatown in Greenwich. The atmosphere is that of an eating house. Not romantic but just like the larger restaurants in Hong Kong. I really cannot fault the place if all you want is to eat good Chinese food. Not cheap but worth the well extra cash. Who cares about the 10% service charge going up to 12.5%. My bill for 3 persons was £50 so what if I gave a £6 tip. The food is worth it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Average, should be better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Maybe I ordered the wrong dishes, but I've had better Singapore rice from takeaways and supermarkets. The only positives were the huge portions and as it was not busy even on a Friday evening, quick service.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I had a great meal here this weekend and would highly recommend it.
I've not tried the dim-sum, but the evening dinner was outstanding. Really good quality and some very special dishes too. Service was unobtrusive and efficient.
Excellent selection of wine too.
Parking is now free - so don't worry about the £2 that some skinflints have mentioned!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pennisula Chinese Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Pennisula Chinese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pennisula Chinese Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.