We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jack the Ripper tour - Sat 26th October.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jack the Ripper Tour - Discovery Tours

Jack the Ripper Tour - Discovery Tours
Aldgate East Underground Station | Toynbee Hall Exit, London E1, England (East End / East London)
02085308443
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #58 of 1,022 Activities in London
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Our Jack the Ripper tour takes place seven nights a week at 7pm. We meet outside Aldgate East Underground Station. We ask you to book because we limit the number of participants on each tour to around 34 people per guide. We go straight into the old alleyways where the Jack the Ripper murders occurred in the autumn of 1888. Several of our guides are published authors on the subject.
Wallington, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Jack the Ripper tour - Sat 26th October.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

I had read on here that John was the best guide around so you can imagine my disappointment when we met with a woman outside Aldgate East station.

I need not have worried - our tour guide Lindsey was very knowledgeable in all aspects of the murders, she was friendly, funny and most importantly was easy to hear.

We walked the streets in a group of about 25, listening intently to Lindsey as she talked us through each and every murder, showing us real photographs of victims and the places they were murdered.

We were sharing the murder sites with about 6 other tours, but we managed to manoeuvre around them, seeing everything we needed to which included a man peeing up against a fence!

All in all it was a good night, would even do it again :)

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    312
    51
    12
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hertford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We booked this and was intrigued as we hadnt been on a London guided tour before, both being from London area.
We had Lindsay as our guide and she totally exceeded expectations. With a passion for the subject she enthralled us for the whole tour. It kind of brought the old london back to life again and we re-lived the times. The walk was easy and we spend ample time at each location whilst other groups had been overtaking our group. Lindsay we happy to answer questions from the group and was helped by photographic information too.
Would highly recomend people to book and hopefully you get Lindsay, shes passionate about the whole subject.
Buying tickets for my Son, Daughter and partners for the tour as we had been so impressed.
Brilliant and THANK YOU Lindsay

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“East End bought to life by John Bennett”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

We booked this tour, the most we were hoping for was a fine evening as rain was forecast. We had an informative, interesting and fun evening. John answered off the cuff questions with great insight and local knowledge. The walk was easy and well paced. John avidly brought to life the times and the atmosphere of past, making it easy to absorb the historical facts of this moment in our history. The tour was excellent value for money, and John responded with great enthusiasm to any jokes or remarks made by members of the group, whilst maintaining his own presentation. A great way to hear and learn about The history of London, with a great guide. Thank you John!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“All i hoped it would be and more”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

the tour guide John was excellent, really knew his stuff, not just the history and facts but the myth and legend that has built up around the Jack the Ripper killings. The walk was well paced and accessible to everyone that went. Do not wonder what to do with your early evening in London any more, this is the best way to spend it.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Excellent tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

John our guide was able to answer all questions and obviously knows his stuff. We passed other tours but i have to say our guide certainly sounded the best. He spoke clearly and had a great sense of humour. We all had a great time and this tour is a real bargain if you have a couple of hours to spare one evening. You need a guide to do this and point out all the sites of interest. Thoroughly recommended.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Jack the Ripper Tour - Discovery Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jack the Ripper Tour - Discovery Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.