We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything is right.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sam's Brasserie & Bar

Sam's Brasserie & Bar
Barley Mow Centre | 11 Barley Mow Passage, London W4 4PH, England (Chiswick)
+44 20 8987 0555
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Sam's Brasserie & Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2,110 of 17,052 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $75 - $80
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Doing business, Special occasions, Bar scene, Romantic, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Chiswick
Telford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
“Everything is right.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

This was a very very enjoyable meal, we had the pork ribeye with borlotti beans as recommended on some TA reports, very tasty and well presented. (I now need to locate pork ribeye at the butchers).
Very communicative and helpful staff. We had a 6:30 booking and were told on sitting that the table was booked again for 9:00pm, this was great knowing so we could keep an eye on the clock whilst not rushing and not once did we feel rushed by the staff. (So many times you go places and feel the staff are trying to rush you and clear the table and it puts a dampener on the meal- but knowing beforehand certainly creates a more relaxed understanding, and so I found this little snippet a nice touch.)
Great vibe and atmosphere.
Definately we will be returning.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    84
    33
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Never falls short.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

I love Sam's. Breakfast, lunch or dinner the staff are always so accommodating and deliver smooth unobtrusive service. You never want for anything. The food is always great and the breakfast has no equal in Chiswick. Keep up the good work.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Hidden Behind the Barley Mow”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Firstly my perennial complaint about Trip Advisor and its designation of family as two adults and two small children. Some of us still go out with our adult children. I have not been in Sam's Brasserie since its renovation two or three years ago. I must admit I was pleasantly surprised. Considering it is a conversion out of part of an old light industrial site its ambience is remarkably good. The service was faultless and attentive and all of us were pleased with our food be it steak, ribs or in my case for once the vegetarian option (though I must admit to receiving titbits from other plates). Puddings were delicious and my pecan pie was one of the best I have had beating my chef sister's hands down. We shall certainly return possibly on one of the evenings when they are playing jazz.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Superb lunch!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

My friend and I went for lunch here on Friday and both ordered the pork rib-eye. It was absolutely delicious, one of those meals where every mouthful is a joy!! The waiter and waitress were excellent and I would recommend you go and try this dish before the menu changes.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Nice evening out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

Went with work colleagues for our Christmas Dinner and had a very enjoyable evening/meal. There was a nice atmosphere and the food was generally enjoyable but unfortunately I do have to make a couple of negative comments - I had Kedgeree, which didn't look anything like a kedgeree although it did sort of taste right and the smoked haddock was virtually non existent. (in the photo it is hidden under the greenery). The venison was very nice but the potato fondant was under cooked and hard for desert I had chocolate fondant and that was very nice.
The service was good with friendly staff

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sam's Brasserie & Bar also viewed

 

Been to Sam's Brasserie & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sam's Brasserie & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.