We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great night, great food, great wine.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Osteria dell'Arancio

Osteria dell'Arancio
383 King's Road, London SW10 0LP, England (Chelsea)
+44 (0)20 7349 8111
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6,723 of 17,997 Restaurants in London
Price range: $23 - $39
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Chelsea
Cross street: milmans street
Transit: Tube: Sloane Square Buses: King's Road
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great night, great food, great wine.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

I found Osteria dell'Arancio to be a hidden gem in Chelsea. With all the high profile venues around town, the set back profile of the restaurant and the personable staff gave a very comfortable feel to the experience. (This was also very good for the date... you never felt rushed, you could enjoy the restaurant as if it were your own.) The wait staff was happy to discuss their preferences with us, what they liked on the menu, and they were very upfront and honest with us.

Before we ordered, the head chef came upstairs to check on tables and see how people were enjoying their food. He stopped by to ask us about our tastes, made a few recommendations, and even tweaked a few dishes to our liking. Once our order was in, the manager came to review our order and made some suggestions on the wine. While I'd usually prefer to select my own wine, the manager made a good decision for us, taking in consideration what we had ordered, and paired the wine wonderfully. Also, to my surprise, it was one of the lower cost wines on the menu (I've found that recommendations are usually pretty high up the price list) but rather than just squeezing out a few extra pounds, the manager selected what he thought would taste best with the meal. We also enjoyed the background on the selection - it is pretty obvious that the manager knows his wines... we got a brief lesson on the variety of grape and the low-down on the region in italy it was from. Just a nice touch

The atmosphere was very enjoyable during the wait for the food. Music wasn't too loud, the weather was nice so the big windows were open allowing a cool breeze... very italian. The food came out rather promptly and the dishes were piping hot. The tempura on the aubergine and calamari was very crisp, everything tasted very fresh. It was very noticeable that the chef has put thorough time into the sauces - there were very delicate flavours all of which balanced well (the chef had guided us on orders so that the flow of the meal went smoothly). This theme continued throughout the night - great flavours, each of which also paired well with the wine. We experienced some dishes that I have never heard of. While it is an italian restaurant, there is a funky element to the menu that adds a little fun. The veal with a tuna sauce (sounds strange, but delicious) was new to us but now we look for it wherever we go.

All in all I recommend that this restaurant should be visited at one point or another. The staff ensured that it was a very special experience and the chef delivered a variety of great flavours throughout the night. If you're a wine person, there is also much more upside in visiting

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    23
    9
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Exceptionally rude staff, slow service and bland food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

I wouldn't recommend this restaurant based on the attitude of what seemed to be the owner. The food was only just about average, starters were better than main courses, but it's hard to get a platter of cold meats wrong. We'd numerous snide comments made throughout the night by the waiter/owner. One of which was about how when my friend ordered her steak, it wasn't acceptable to order a steak to be cooked 'medium', therefore they were going to cook it 'medium rare', as that was just about acceptable to the chef! When the steak arrived, the waiter/owner then laughed and said "see, you can eat it medium rare if you try". It took two attempts to take the order as the waiter/owner couldn't take it down correctly, thus interrupting the whole party twice in order to take the order from everyone a second time. We waited 25 mins for our wine to arrive and then another 10 mins before they opened it. When we tried to order another of red and white wine (we were a table of 11), we were informed that they'd only give us a bottle of red as that's what should be drunk with the main course. They then didn't have the bottle we asked for and insisted we should have another bottle, yet wouldn't confirm whether it was the same price as the bottle we'd ordered. The pasta was bland and lacking in seasoning. Portions were very small and it was expensive for what we had, I guess we were paying for the insults. It's a shame as it used to be a good restaurant years ago however the condescending attitude of the owner was unacceptable and we won't be back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere for crunchy pasta and redwine gone off”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Service took forever with only "the manager" allowed to take orders and bring the bill. Seafood pasta was full of crushed shells. Pasta was crunchy hard to bite through and our house wine, at £7.50 per glass had the smell and taste of beer gone off.
Nice atmosphere though

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Excellent food and wine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Excellent food and wine although the restaurant was a bit noisy. Book a table near the bar rather than inside

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Nice place, shame about the food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

We found the Osteria by accident, on a Friday night, while on business in Chelsea. It looks authentic and, indeed, is very bright and nicely decorated. We had no booking, which seemed to mean that we had to sit upstairs. No real problem, but almost all the downstairs tables were empty at the time. Upstairs was as nice as down, so no real issue; just one of those quirks of restaurants. We were not rushed to order and the bread, Puglian olives and ham that came, unbidden as a "nibble" was all very nice. The famous (according to the manager) wine list was quite long and varied. However, as with so many restaurants these days, the bottle prices were high - few under £30. We had two half litre carafes of Sardinian red. Very pleasant, but still £27 each. We shared a starter - two types of Mozzarella, one with ham and one with a very fiery chilli kick to it. Nice enough. For main course, I ordered a spicy sausage pasta. It was fine; not spectacular. My wife ordered the special ravioli - large parcels filled with spinach and something else with a pesto sauce. Well, here is where we fell out with the place. The ravioli was hard. Seriously so. Not "al dente". Hard. There is a difference - and we've eaten in enough Italian restaurants - here, in Italy and elsewhere - to know that difference. Probably, there is a minute or two in the cooking time; here, they were off the pace. We told waitress. She seemed about to argue with us when the manager stepped in - good, he was paying attention - and took the plate away. However, five minutes later, with me slowly eking out my dish so as not to finish before my wife, a waiter appeared with a menu. He told us that "we cook the ravioli al dente. That is how we serve it so if you do not like it, you may choose something else." Stunning, a chef who will not listen to his/her customers; a chef who thinks people must eat things exactly as he/she serves them, or not at all. My wife chose another dish - spaghetti with peas and scallops. It took a while and I had all but finished my (quite small) dish. I hesitate to use the word "microwave" in relation to a good restaurant, but there was something odd about this new dish. The kitchen was downstairs (so it had to travel to us) and, even 10 minutes after the plate arrived, the food was still almost too hot to eat. We think that that's not normal, unless a microwave has been employed. In the main, microwaves destroy good food. Here, the scallops looked rubbery and over-done and, although the taste was OK, the whole thing was quite ordinary. In all, we spent just short of £100.00. That's not un-typical of London, but it's a lot for what we had. It seems to us that this place thinks it's better than it really is.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy G, at Osteria dell'Arancio, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
I am sorry you did not enjoy your dinner at Osteria.
In our opinion the ravioli was sufficiently cooked and as it is a fresh pasta I am not keen to cook it longer as the parcels tend to break. It is a question of preference and for that reason I suggested you choose a different dish. You chose the fresh tagliolini with peas and scallops, The fresh tagliolini cooks in 1 ½ minute, scallops are fresh and the sauce is done on request to every order, dish travels with the lift between the kitchen and the room upstairs. Of course it arrives hot and I certainly don’t use a microwave!!
Headchef
Osteria dell'Arancio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osteria dell'Arancio also viewed

 
London, England
London, England
 

Been to Osteria dell'Arancio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Osteria dell'Arancio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.