We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing experience” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Central Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Central Park Hotel to your Saves list
Central Park Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3-15 Wilberforce Road, London N4 2SR , England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #907 of 1,065 Hotels in London
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Disappointing experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

The reception area was clean and the staff were friendly. When we entered the room it felt like we had walked into an oven. During the night we had to open the window (fortunately there were bars on the windows as we faced the main road) just so we could sleep. The beds were very hard and the pillows very thin and uncomfortable. The towels were not replaced every day and looked like they had been re-folded and layed across doona on the bed.. Many times the cups were not cleaned, teabags and milk not replaced On one occasion I asked for milk to be replaced but the staff never returned with it. The next time I spoke to them they were apologetic and if I had not stood at the reception and waited I am not sure if I would have received it at all. I bought my own milk in the end. It was close to public transport but as we often stayed out late I did not feel very safe at times walking back from the station. The breakfast was ok but I thought continental meant you got fruit with your cereal. .Positive experiences, the free Wi Fi and many of the take away food stores stayed open late There was a couple of little supermarkets nearby for supplies needed..

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing the main road as there were quite a few people walking by late at night an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    45
    107
    65
    103
See reviews for
66
110
18
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

The room and bathroom are dirty. Terrible for to allergic people, because they don't clean the rooms. Nice location, close to metro station(about 5 min) and the park(2 min). My room had a small kitchen, but there weren't kitchen utensils to use!!
The breakfast is satisfactory.
The price and location are good, but if you can, choose other hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2011

Stayed at Central Park Hotel for 4 nights in September. When I arrived, the staff were very welcoming and offered luggage storage (I arrived a bit before 2pm), however once I checked in and got up to my room (tough with my large suitcase and no working lift!) I was bitterly dissapointed. I had paid for an Annex room (supposed to be a lot better and in the newer building) but when I got there was given a standard room (and no refund!) which was very tiny. The laminated floorboards were lifting off the ground, the TV barely worked (and not the flat screen promised!) and the bathroom was just a cupboard which had been converted!

I did have a long chat with the manager though, who also agreed that the hotel is not up to standards!

Decided to check out a day early just because I was over staying at this joke of a hotel. Will not recommend it to anyone who goes to London.

Room Tip: Book an annex room, and actually make sure you get an annex room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hucknall, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

This hotel was booked through work so it was forced upon me. On arriving reception was clean and girl behind reception was friendly enough. i was given a room on the top floor (61 steps up and lift out of order).

On opening the door to my room I was greeted with a overwelming stench of stale mould. The room itself was very basic, one cupboard, drawers, a chair and a double bed.

On the drawers were a tv with a broken ariel and a heavily limescaled kettle. The bed consisted of a springy mattress and a duvet with a massively oversized cover.

The floor was laminated (wipe clean)and the curtains were torn and stained. The bathroom was tiny and was the source of the stench.

Breakfast. I've read a few of the previous review commenting that the breakfast was ok or acceptable. I'm sorry , but a pile of cheapest wafer thin ham, a pile of cheese slices, a pile of value bread (you can see the dozens of loaves stacked in the cabinet fridges behind the bar), nasty faux cornflakes etc.etc ....it's just not good enough.

Overall i didn't enjoy staying there but no doubt i'll end up there again due to my employers hotel policy, and i gave it 2 out of 5 only because i've stayed in worse in London

Room Tip: Avoid top floor (rooms 800+) at all cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

I stayed there for 4 days in July with my boyfriend. When we were on our way to the hotel,we started to feel nervous because we saw that this is not a secure and good area,but this was just the beginning. We recieved a room on the 3rd floor,it was like a rat hole,with a tiny Tv,and a same size "bathroom" with a dirty shower where the walls were covered with mildew,the bedroom had an old scrappy window,that we could only open to half way. During 2 days the room was as hot as hell,that we hardly could sleep. The other fact what didn't help us to fall asleep that there were blood sucker small bugs in the bed!!!!!!!!!!!!!! WHAT A F*UCK?They dare to call this place a hotel?? During our stay we didn't notice any cleaning in our room,they just dropped a few clean towels in. At the first day,we were tired of travelling a lot,so we wanted to have a rest,but we were interrupted by someone knocked on the door,I did't reply,and then a man opend a door with a key and entered in. When he noticed that we're in the room,he stared at us with widely opened eyes,and mumbled something about a leaky toilet,but the toilet in our room was alright (I don't know how!? :D),and he rushed in the bathroom,fumbled for a few secs and rushed out. STRANGE!?? I red some reviews before,and some say that they were robbed during their stay,so then I must think that he wanted to have a look around our room... On the walls there were dirty patches,and chewing gums were stuck on it. The curtains were extremly dirty and dusty.What else can I say? The breakfast was alright,but the breakfast area was totally crowded all the time,and people queued for ages behind the toaster. I only can recommed to STAY AWAY FROM THIS PLACE!!!

Room Tip: Do not choose any room,never stay there!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Ok don't know if i could do this but would anyway...My sister and dad were looking for a place to stay for her trip to England to enter her University of choice. They wanted to do some shopping and was looking for somewhere in Finsbury. I have so much faith and confidence in TripAdvisor that i decided to do my research using the reviews from this website. They enjoyed their stay immensely at Central Park Hotel and the convenience of everything around them due to their wonderful location!!! the service was great and the only complaint was their exceptionally slow internet connection. Other than that they had a wonderful stay!!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowestoft
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

We were very dissappionted with this hotel. The first room they gave us was flooded when we walked in so they had to give us another one. There were three beds in the room plus a camp bed stood against the wall. and the curtains were hanging off and badly stained. The wooden floor was badly marked with large gaps out of it and the bathroom was so dirty we couldnt have a shower. I would strongly urge avoidance of this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Central Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Park Hotel

Address: 3-15 Wilberforce Road, London N4 2SR , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #907 of 1,065 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Central Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Central Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Central Park
Central Park Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Central Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.