We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious, Quick Meal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Real Greek - Bankside

The Real Greek - Bankside
Units 1-2 | Riverside House, London SE1 9HA, England
+44 (0)20 7620 0162
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,588 of 18,003 Restaurants in London
Price range: $39 - $54
Cuisines: Greek
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Delicious, Quick Meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Had dinner here with friends before taking in a show at the Globe Theatre (right next door). We opted for the mezes (Greek tapas) and it was delicious. They have an assortment of hot and cold mezes (including vegetarian, vegan and celiac options), so you can choose a bunch to taste/share. Between 3 diners, we chose 10 plates and it was more than enough food. During our meal, the manager came by our table, introduced himself and made sure we were happy with our dining experience. Only complaint is that is was a bit loud. Will definitely be returning next time I'm in London.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    183
    55
    27
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

On a busy Friday night, we appeared with no booking and were given a view of St Paul's in the sunset, a friendly and keen waitress and great food. There's a sensible menu which gave us a taste of Greece without having a huge meal when we chose a sharing platter.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Yummy!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Booked a meal for two on Friday 30th August. Arrive in time for our 7pm table but as we asked to sit outside we had to wait for 5-10 minutes at the bar. Bought a glass of wine & diet coke which came to £10.25, i was in shock at this price and after looking at the drinks menu saw that I'd been given a large glass without even asking me.

We were seated within 10 minutes and our order taken in within anothe 5. The waiters are good at recomending dishes or advising people who are unsure of anything.

Our food came within 15 minutes and was delicious, although the lamb cutlets were fatty and I should have stated this at the time because once I received the bill I noticed these were the most expensive of meze costing over £7 when all others were around £4-£5.

Our leftovers wre bagged up for us after paying our bill. The music which I thought was a CD was being played by greek musicians inside the restaurant.

A few issues we noticed was, the table next to ours had to complain about cold food. But this was taken and returned fairly quickly heated through. Also inside the restaurant the tables seemed quite squashed together .

A lovely atmosphere and tasty food but beware of drink prices and if there is any problems with your food speak up as the staff are very accomodating.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Lovely Atmoshere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We called in here on a very busy saturday night and were lucky enough to get a table quite quickly. The staff were all very friendly and the atmosphere in the place was great. The food was very nice, we had bothe Mezes, and the whole meal was reasonably priced. I've spent more on a meal in Leicester. If you like Greek food, Greek music and good service The Real Greek is worth a visit.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bilston
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Great lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Came to the The Real Greek, Bankside on a Saturday afternoon with my sister.
Location
It is a lovely Thames riverside location.
Food
Enjoyable lunch on the terrace, only negative aspect was the wobbly table top. I would come to this restaurant again. We both left happy.
Service
The staff are knowledgeable about the menu, and quite helpful.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Real Greek - Bankside also viewed

 

Been to The Real Greek - Bankside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Real Greek - Bankside, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.