We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just ok” 3 of 5 stars
Review of White Horse

White Horse
1-3 Parsons Green, London SW6 4UL, England (Hammersmith / Fulham)
+44 (0)20 7736 2115
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
White Horse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7,753 of 18,011 Restaurants in London
Price range: $25 - $69
Cuisines: British, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Hammersmith / Fulham
Transit: Tube: Parsons Green
Chesterfield, New Jersey
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
“Just ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We stopped in and got fish and chips as this was on the way back to my buddy's place and he said they had one of the better fish and chips that he's had (in his 3 months living in london). Turned out it was decent but nothing amazing. We also ordered a scotch egg, they couldn't cook it properly to leave the yolk runny (the waiter pointed this out) and said that we wouldn't be charged for it, but sure enough it showed up on our bill. I didn't mind much as we did order it, just was bad that they didn't do as promised. Service was also pretty slow. The place is nothing special that I'd go out of my way for, but if you are in the area, decent pub food and selection of beer.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    32
    20
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Rubbish service but excellent beers”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

This pub at the edge of Parsons Green caught my attention for its outstanding draught and bottled beer selection. Food was English inspired and decent value. Service and lack of ruined our experience. We waited 10 minutes for our first beer, never received a beer list after asking three servers for it, and we were overcharged for drinks we did not order.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“good local pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

Looks the part-heavy oak and mahogany furniture, classic old style pub interior, good atmosphere. The beer selection is wide and it is well kept, so enough to keep a real ale enthusiast happy for an evening at least. Bar service is generally friendly and helpful, and it is well staffed. The downsides: it can get extremely busy, noisy and rowdy some evenings so just check there isn't something going on if you are after a quiet pint. The food is competent rather than good: anything adventurous is a gamble and I usually stick to sausages and mash which you can't go too far wrong with. All in all, it's fine and has the advantage of having been there for decades to serve generations of Tamaras, Tarquins, Olivias and Hamishes some of whom have now graduated from their Golf GTIs to the Range Rovers that are frequently parked on the kerb outside...

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fulham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Great for Ales only.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

I love this place as its my local and it does great range of Ales which i love.

Would not go there for specifically for food as it can be hit and miss. Sometimes its great and sometimes its poor. I expect better quality for the prices they charge.
Also if its busy, staff can be overwhelmed and takes you ages to get served.

Great place to meet friends before heading to other places such as football at chelsea or fulham.

It can't be bad as its usually packed on a summers days. Really nice to sit and chill when quiet.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great beer, poor food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

I'm pretty much a regular at this Pub. On the plus side: it's got some of the best kept beer in London, in fact it's an absolute Mecca for beer lovers. Immaculately kept ales which seem to be ever changing and a great bottled beer range. There are regular festivals here as well. As a pub I love it for its wide range of customers; it's nickname is the "sloaney pony" and yep, there's plenty of red trousers and posh accents. But you're equally as likely to rub shoulders with London cabbies, Fulham or Chelsea fans on the way to a match or bearded beer lovers. If you think pubs should be one huge melting pot, here's glorious vindication of the idea.

Big problem for me is the food. It's simply over priced and poorly executed. Had a steak burger for £15.75 the other night which was bland and wedged between two thick slices of focaccia, one side of which was slathered in tasteless coleslaw. The triple cooked chips were cold and no way triple cooked, in fact they were card board like. Anyway, do yourself a favour, go for the beer, avoid the food.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed White Horse also viewed

 

Been to White Horse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage White Horse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.