We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good menu poor service” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Phoenix

Phoenix
23 Smith Street | Chelsea, London SW3 4EE, England
+44 (0)20 7730 9182
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5,504 of 18,003 Restaurants in London
Price range: $0 - $63
Cuisines: Pub
Description: This Smith Street pub, running directly south off Kings Road, once a hang-out of young trend followers, is now a regular haunt of the locals. They love the warm cosy atmosphere, not to mention the delightful menu that is refreshingly changed every week. Equally busy at lunch and dinner, The Phoenix takes bookings for both meals, or even if you just fancy a snack and a drink, you are welcome to come in. To the back of the pub is the dining room, where you can book a table for two or twenty and confidently expect to receive the same attentive service throughout the pub, no matter how large your group. Stan, the chef of The Phoenix, has been with Geronimo for many years and will be happy to serve up a selection of traditional British dishes for you.
Restaurant details
Description: This Smith Street pub, running directly south off Kings Road, once a hang-out of young trend followers, is now a regular haunt of the locals. They love the warm cosy atmosphere, not to mention the delightful menu that is refreshingly changed every week. Equally busy at lunch and dinner, The Phoenix takes bookings for both meals, or even if you just fancy a snack and a drink, you are welcome to come in. To the back of the pub is the dining room, where you can book a table for two or twenty and confidently expect to receive the same attentive service throughout the pub, no matter how large your group. Stan, the chef of The Phoenix, has been with Geronimo for many years and will be happy to serve up a selection of traditional British dishes for you.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good menu poor service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

The Phoenix is in the heart of Chelsea just off the King's road. It is owned by Geronimo. The menus is good but they need to improve either the kitchen, the service, the manager or all three. Even when it is half full this pub which serves good quality food and reasonable by Chelsea standards struggles to deliver a single course within 25 minutes. When it comes the food is reliable. Atmosphere is pleasant. Dogs are welcome. Good option if you are shopping and are patient.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    11
    3
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Simple and honest”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Excellent service, good honest food with a real pub like experience in chelsea. Good for business, friends or just a supper.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Terrible food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

I have had drinks in this pub many times before, and it has always been fine, and a nice place to meet friends. However, today I went there for Sunday lunch with a friend, and was appalled at the standard of food and the service. I know Sunday lunch is a busy time for pubs, but the staff seemed run off their feet, and unable to cope.

Once we had ordered (after trying to attract the attention of a member of staff for about 20 minutes), we then waited for an hour for our food. When it arrived, both dishes were luke warm and very disappointing. The vegetables were not cooked - I couldn't cut through the parsnips with a normal knife - and the hollandaise sauce on my friend's dish was split and the consistency of water. The quality of beef was terrible - cold, sinewy and tired.

We had to send them back, which I hate doing, but for the price they charge we thought it was worth mentioning. The table next door also had to send their food back, and also complained that they had waited for over an hour.

After another 20 minutes wait for the dishes to be remade, I was then given a roast with no parsnips at all. Again, the beef was sinewy.

I would never go back there again for food, and I wouldn't recommend anyone else to!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A great Choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Arrived there and welcomed by friendly staff, decent priced food and drink and a nice atmosphere. Would definitely go again

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A Solid Value in Chelsea”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

We had a very good meal here with the family. The cost was reasonable and the place was accommodating, even with the large crowd watching Wimbledon. A bit noisy, but what could we expect on a Friday evening? My sausage meal was very good and the artichoke appetizer was just how we liked it. A nice comfortable atmosphere.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Phoenix also viewed

 
London, England
 

Been to Phoenix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Phoenix, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.