We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“awful service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Queen of Sheba

Queen of Sheba
3-4 Bouverie Place, London W2 1RE, England
+44 (0)207 402 6667
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9,012 of 17,041 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $49
Cuisines: Middle Eastern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“awful service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

having been to this place millions of times, recently esp after the refurbishing the level of service has just gone down the drain, the staff are just not paying attention, they got the wrong orders...

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    12
    2
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Go there!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

After English and Indian foor the two nights before this was a really nice experience. Except for our table all other tables were oriental folks. Very nice atmosphere. And super food.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Real Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

This restaurant is just 5 minutes up the road from Paddington Station and the National Theatre's site-specific play The Drowned Man.

The welcome was warm and the restaurant was busy but not overcrowded. Between the three of us we had the mixed starter plate which had a delicious combo of Hoummus, Tabouleh, Stuffed Vine Leaves and a couple of other items the names of which escape me. We supplemented that with an extra full portion of Tabbouleh. These were served with a large freshly baked piece of flatbread with chili and coriander salsa. Very delicious and filling. The bread alone should make this a reason to visit.

We each had a main, deepfried chicken, mixed grill and kebabs. The mains are huge and really one of them with the starters would have been enough for all three of us.

I had chips with my chicken and this was the one quibble - they were freshly made but once again they were from frozen. Fair enough, this is an Arabic Restaurant and chips are not a part of the traditional cuisine and rice is also offered but given the quality of everything else we were served I am sure they have the ability to make fresh fried potatoes.

Service was very good.

No alcohol is served so this will give you the chance to get a glass of their refreshing Lime and Mint. I recommend this place highly and will visit again when in the area.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A special night to remember .”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I went to eat here for our 5th wedding anniversary , it was the first time we've eaten at the restaurant and was delighted with the quick and polite service and mouth watering food . Prices range from £4-£12 with very generous portion sizes . As soon as you walk in to the restaurant you notice the beautifully designed Interior which takes you away to the middle east. The staff greet you at the door and make you feel very welcome . Whilst eating the owner (Abu Mazen) came to us and congratulated our 5 years ( my husband obviously told him when booking the table) he very kindly brought us a cupcake with a candle to commemorate our day which we had no idea he would do. A very pleasant man indeed. The food was flavoursome and delectable that we even took some home for our kids . We will definitely be going back soon, and recommend it to all.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“First try of Yemen, not the last..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

Tried this on the spur of the moment with fairly low expectations. I was pleasantly surprised, the staff were helpful with the menu which included most things I had never heard of.

Had the mixed starter which was excellent, I had a lamb spicy dish which was delicious. I also had a jug of green drink, not sure what it was but it was lovely. There were six of us dining, 3 really enjoyed there meals and 3 were disappointed. This was mainly due to their choice from the menu. When you have little idea what you ordering, it is pot luck.

We will be returning next time we are in London as some of the dishes other diners had looked really interesting.

We didn't need to book a table.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Queen of Sheba also viewed

 
London, England
 

Been to Queen of Sheba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Queen of Sheba, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.