We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unmissable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Louis Hungarian Patisserie - Hampstead

Louis Hungarian Patisserie - Hampstead
32 Heath Street, London NW3 6TE, England
+44 (0)20 7435 9908
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5,540 of 17,879 Restaurants in London
Cuisines: Dessert, Eastern European, Central European
Restaurant details
Geneva
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Unmissable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

I was passing by and I noticed the cakes in the vitrine (it's nearly impossible not to notice them). If you are a sweet tooth like me, then this is a place you must not miss. It isn't only that their cakes and desserts are delicious, it is also the atmosphere of this small patisserie that makes it so special. It is like stepping into another era. A beautiful experience for those that search something different.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    20
    5
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“I ask my friends to take me here for my birthday!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

I have a sweet tooth and a fondness for "Kondeturi" .This lovely place is an oasis in the desert of corporate coffee bars in London. Cakes that have proper flavour isn't easy to find these days. When you go to any cafe in Europe the quality of the cakes and coffee is so high then when you return to London you feel like you are eating cardboard. This is a dinosaur in modern London and I hope hen its owner retires that someone will carry on running this place.I will soon celebrate another birthday here!Cheers!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santorini, Greece
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Time for Louis Patisserie to not rest on their laurels...!!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

I went back to Louis last year in May 2012 after not being back for 20 years. The place still has its charm but it is time that the management takes a hard look at keeping up their standards and do not rest on their laurels!!! Cakes we ordered were not as they used to be. Tea cup was chipped. Service was not particularly welcoming. And what definitely needs attention are their toilets. They are simply below standards and are in desperate need of a refresh (keeping their old style, of course)... But, I would go back again to 'Louis', next trip to London!!!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A cosy place in Hampstead to have delicious cheese cake and tea”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

If you are lucky, you will be able to grab a table at a corner in the patisserie where you can read a book quietly and enjoy a cup of tea with a delicious cheese cake in a vintage setting.

It is not a place where you can take kids who would like to run around. For taking teenagers and families its ideal. And of course if you like to go by yourself, its perfect.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Like Cafe Gerbaud in miniature!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Hubby and I enjoyed a half-term mooch in Hampstead today (not an area we're familiar with), but were disappointed not to stumble across any cute little vintage-style tea-shops (surely there must be some?) but then came across Louis Hungarian Patisserie. It's affirmation that it had been around 'since 1963' suggested that it may hold some traditional delights that are fast disappearing from High Streets everywhere as the ubiquitous global brands move in, and the delights on display in the window confirmed that it was Our Kind of Cafe.

Entering the warmth of its carpeted and muffled interior was like entering a long-ago world of gentility redolent of continental ladies throughout the Austro-Hungarian empire socialising over Kaffee und Kuchen. If you've ever been to Budapest, it is like a Cafe Gerbaud in miniature. So difficult to choose our ultimate indulgence...so we ordered a cream slice and a confection of chocolate, marzipan and hazelnut buttercream which we shared. Yummy! But it was the coffee that had us eulogising...two white filter coffees which transported us to another time with their mellow milkiness (so far removed from the c(r)appuccino one so often gets from the many nameless chains).

Not what you'd call a cheap treat (£12.20 for two of us) but then again, a similar order in one of our hated chains would only cost a couple of pounds less - but there the similarity ends. In terms of the experience and quality, Louis is a little taste of Hungary in NW3.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Louis Hungarian Patisserie - Hampstead also viewed

Romaldkirk, County Durham
 

Been to Louis Hungarian Patisserie - Hampstead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Louis Hungarian Patisserie - Hampstead, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.