We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely joint” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kalamaras Greek Taverna

Kalamaras Greek Taverna
66 Inverness Mews, London W2 3JQ, England
+44 20 7727 9122
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,415 of 16,890 restaurants in London
Price range: $34 - $48
Cuisines: Greek, Mediterranean, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Founded in 1966 and hidden in a quiet mews off Queensway, we offer fantastic authentic Greek food with a warm welcome and friendly service. Over the years we have had many famous people regularly dine here including the Beatles, Peter Sellers and his friends, racing drivers Graham and Damon Hill, also many actors and actresses, such as Telly Savalas (Kojak), Faye Dunaway, Irene Pappas, Mick Jagger and many other well-known names of the 60’s, 70’s and the present day. But it is not just the stars; many people have always loved dining here: members of the local, international and Greek Bayswater communities, as well as students and tourists who visit London. They all like the friendly and informal atmosphere and the healthy Greek food. We invite you to join us and carry on the glorious tradition of Kalamaras.
Hertfordshire
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Lovely joint”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Great dessert, very authentic Greek food I believe. The taramasalata was genius, good service and great main course, not too pricey. No real bad points but I didn't want to go there and my gf did so if I give 5 stars it is like admitting she was right, sorry!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

83% Recommend
    55
    65
    10
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

on Saturday 31 of august I visited kalamaras. once again i was fascinated by the way this little corner of london gives the sense you are in greece. lovely service and friendly atmosphere. I will definitely keep going there.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Real taste of Greek Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

A hidden treasure with friendly staff and great samples of Greek cousine. Good atmosphere and I really suggest Greek and Mediterranean food lovers.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Good beer”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Please don`t eat here. Just drink.
I would not let my dog eat here.
The food we ordered was not fresh, and we get sick about six ours later.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramsbottom, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Superb Greek Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

My wife and I visited on a Thursday evening whilst on a trip to London. This was real Greek food, superb quality and very friendly service. We chose a bottle of red wine based on the description in the wine list (Entechnos) and it complemented our meals superbly. We would have no hesitation in recommending the restaurant and have already planned to go back when we are in London again at the start of October.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kalamaras Greek Taverna also viewed

 

Been to Kalamaras Greek Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kalamaras Greek Taverna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.