We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great destination for coffee & cake” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dulwich Picture Gallery Cafe

Dulwich Picture Gallery Cafe
Gallery Road, Dulwich, London SE21 7AD, England
+44 (0)20 8299 8717
Improve this listing
Ranked #8,470 of 17,041 Restaurants in London
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A great destination for coffee & cake”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Having visited the Gallery in December, I became aware of the Cafe and decided to return to try it out today. The staff were extremely friendly and provided an efficient service so I was surprised to find so many negative comments about the service online. They were clearly well acquainted with regular customers and ushered to help those with prams. The cafe was not too busy and with large windows, it was lovely to look out on to the gallery and surrounding gardens. Also, Dulwich Park is just across the road with parking.

I had the coley main course and it was delicious. The portion size was a little too big for me but I do prefer smaller lighter meals to most. I didn't manage dessert (although the cakes looked enormous and tasty) but I did have a latte. As a coffee connoisseur, I can highly recommend their coffee. They are also large and of high quality. In total, it was a little expensive but I will definitely return for coffee and cake when the new exhibition opens!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    21
    11
    18
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Dopey waiting staff”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

They open before the Gallery does, which is good, but the staff were still half-asleep. I didn't like the coffee and the croissant was generic-poor. West end prices, inattentive staff but a service charge is added. Until they improve, take your own and sit in the gardens, instead!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A pleasant suprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

We visited tyhe Picture Galley to see the Whistler Exhibition and travelled by bus from Bixton on the P4, when we arrived we were in need of refreshment so had coffee and cake before going to the exhibition.
The coffee was excellent and the cake we shared as it was quite large!!
After the exhibition we were lucky to have a table for lunch as people were beginning to queue.
The vegetarian starter was good and I had the fish whicha although a small portin was quite adequate for lunch. My wife had the goats cheese salad which was excellent and too much for her to mange so I helped out.
The service was good so I was surprised to read some of the negative comments, don't people consider complaining at the time rather than later??

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Overpriced cold coffee”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

I visited the café yesterday morning and my friend ordered a flat white and I ordered a cappuccino. We had to wait at least 15 minutes although the café was not very busy. When it eventually arrived my friend's flat white was in a very small cup and mine was in a bigger cup but only had about 4 minute specs of chocolate (maybe, there wasn't enough to taste) and was luke warm. My friend's coffee was also not hot and we thought about sending it back but realized that this would involve another long delay and by then we were keen to see an exhibition in the gallery. Each coffee cost £2.95 which puts them amongst some of the most expensive in London. Unfortunately they were also the worst in terms of value for money, taste and service.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice location shame about the rest!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

I had high hopes of this as the location is great and I quite like the boutique feel of the restaurant. However we were very disappointed by the food. We obtained a table very easily as we arrived by 12 and were shown the lunch menu. One of our friends had the belly pork which looked very dry but had no sauce there were probably 3 small slices of sauteed potato and a tiny helping of cavolo nero. Our other friend had the hake and again it was a very small helping with very little to accompany it. We do not belong to the school of quantity over quality but the amount of food provided should have been reflected by a lower price. We shared a meat platter as we were eating later that night but the meat was not of great quality. Whilst the staff were friendly I was very surprised to note that our waitress did not appear to have been shown that food should be served from behind rather than by leaning across one diner to serve another, almost tipping the food onto the table in the process. We went elsewhere for our dessert!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dulwich Picture Gallery Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Dulwich Picture Gallery Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dulwich Picture Gallery Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.