We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bellisimo” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Numero Uno

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Numero Uno
139 Northcote Road | Clapham, London SW11 6PX, England (Clapham / Battersea )
(020)-8985-8686
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Numero Uno is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3,608 of 16,877 restaurants in London
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Clapham / Battersea 
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Bellisimo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

My first visit to Numero Uno on Northcote Rd in over a year and my third ever. Chose the restaurant for a late Saturday night dinner (9:30 reservation) and it was perfect. Not a pizzeria, but a very wide selection of fish and meat dishes, pastas and risottos make up the menu

The mains were both worthy of five stars - the deep-fried scampi and mozzarella with a spicy tomato sauce and fresh vegetables, and the scampi and lemon risotto. Followed by a light and fluffy lemon cheescake, mmmmmm!

Not cheap for an Italian restaurant in London (£85 for two mains, one dessert, a bottle of wine, coffees, water and tip), but well worth every penny. Will definitely return and recommend again to friends and family

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

80% Recommend
    20
    16
    5
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“THE Italian restaurant in Clapham... nothing comes close”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Being Italian, when my two non-Italian friends suggested dinner in what they considered to be THE Italian in Clapham, I admit I was skeptical at best. What a surprise it was!
I walked in and was very kindly greeted by the all-Italian staff. I found a restaurant that has a quiet bustle to it, a buzzing yet relaxed atmosphere. I loved the details: the roses on the table, the white, crisp tablecloths, and the pop Italian songs that were playing in the background which I loved.
The menu was extensive and included some dishes I've never seen outside of Italy. There were several appetizers, pasta dishes which included homemade pasta, the fish selections were all made with fresh fish, and there were lots of meat dishes too.
My main in particular was delicious: linguini all'aragosta, with the lobster right on the plate. It took a bit of work to get all the lobster meat out, but it was worth every bite!
The wine was good, the espresso was up to scratch, and I was so happy with this restaurant that I know I'll come again. I've finally found that restaurant I can recommend to people when they ask me as an Italian if I know a genuine, truly good Italian restaurant!
They accept reservations through toptable too...

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Revviews say it all”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

The three reviews below say it all. We went on Saturday night with two friends. It is simply a great Italian Restaurant. Food , service, price and most of all ambienece were tremendous.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“perfect local italian”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

I have been going to Numero Uno for years and felt I should say how good they are on this site for anyone travelling into the area. It is a perfect local restaurant serving excellent food.
There is every type of Italian dish you could wish for from great pastas to the best steak in london seared and served with balsamic vinegar and rocket. So tender I could run down there now and order a take-away! They have a great variety of meat dishes and some gorgeous fresh fish on the menu as well. Not a pudding girl but friends tell me they are yummy too.
Everyone is cheerful and friendly and the restaurant is always buzzing but not too noisy as to be unbearable. Sit outside for the perfect al fresco summer lunch. Enjoy!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conwy, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“lunch with family on our visit to London”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Nice table near the opening to Northcote Road, which was laid perfectly with white tablecloth and napkins.There was a good choice of typical Italian food and a good selection of Italian and other wines. We chose the white , which was Sicilian and acceptable to go with the Linguine Arrogosto - lobster pasta, which two of us chose . The two others had wild boar pasta ( no wine ). All of us had lovely and most enjoyable meals.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Numero Uno also viewed

 
London, England
London, England
 

Been to Numero Uno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Numero Uno, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.