We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place if you want to explore dim sum” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal China - Baker Street

Royal China - Baker Street
24-26 Baker Street, London W1U 3BZ, England (Marylebone)
+44 (0)20 7487 4688
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6,588 of 18,003 Restaurants in London
Price range: $73 - $78
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Marylebone
Milan, Italy
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A great place if you want to explore dim sum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Have been in this restaurant a few times both at lunch and dinner, but if it's your first time there I'd highly recommend to visit at lunch on weekends when a very long list of dim sum is served, but be prepared to wait up to 30 minutes as the place gets extremely busy and reservations are not accepted. The place itself is quite classy and the service is extremely efficient and attentive; usually it doesn't take long for the food to be served and the waiters are constantly looking after your table making sure that empty dishes are removed almost immediately and glasses are always full. The quality of the food is consistently good and I personally believe it has even improved over time. From my point of view, I find this restaurant much more interesting than any other place in Chinatown; even if it's a bit more expensive than the average Chinese, it's definitively worth.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    75
    45
    18
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Classy AND reasonable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013 via mobile

A huge Chinese restaurant, conveniently close to our hotel near Baker Street. Plenty of people, local and tourist, always a good sign. A large but not overwhelming menu, good variety, big portions, not expensive. Altogether a good find.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Good reliable Chinese food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

You can always rely on Royal China for good Chinese food in London.
This branch is not as noisy and boisterous as the sister branch in Queensway, but just as good.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Authentic and high quality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Book in advance. We were brought there by a friend as he is a regular visitor and by 1:00pm the place was full. The service is quick and the prices very reasonable. The food- healthy, diverse and good quality.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
522 helpful votes 522 helpful votes
“One of my favourites - anywhere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

We just returned from ten bitterly cold days in London in late March. Having eaten here on a Diamond Jub trip last year, I'd been dreaming of their dim sum ever since. In fact, RC was a major factor in our hastily planning this visit! And we weren't disappointed. Their dim sum is some of the finest - anywhere. The buzz in the place is great. The service prompt.
I can't recommend this restaurant highly enough.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Royal China - Baker Street also viewed

 

Been to Royal China - Baker Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal China - Baker Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.