We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast review” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Gaucho City

Gaucho City
1 Bell Inn Yard, London EC3V 0BL, England (City of London)
+44 20 7626 5180
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Gaucho City is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2,668 of 16,890 restaurants in London
Price range: $69 - $120
Cuisines: Argentinean, Latin, South American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Doing business, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: City of London
Transit: Tube:Bank/Monument
Description: Gaucho source the finest grass-fed beef in the world from Argentina, along with an offering of many other Argentine specialities which range from Latin American style ceviche to chorizo, Gulf de San Jorge lobster, Patagonian lamb and Argentine gambas to traditional empanadas and fine wine. We also offer the largest wine selection in the world outside of Argentina in our restaurants and guests can buy many of the wines from our wine boutique, Cavas de Gaucho on Swallow Street. With seasonally changing menus served across all of our restaurants, we also offer The Gaucho Lunch menu, either two or three courses, between Monday and Friday.
New York
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Breakfast review”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Did not have a dinner here, but 3 breakfasts. The continental is OK, not a lot of choice, pretty basic but more and better than in US.
Eggs benedict were horrible, worst I ever had. I did not like the setting, chairs covered with cowhide, not pleasant to people who love and care for animals. the service was very slow.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

67% Recommend
    40
    40
    23
    13
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Steak heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

This place is amazing. Not cheap but quite simply the best steak. Great attentive service from knowledgable staff. Beautiful surroundings too. Defo worth a visit

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thurrock, Essex
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Gaucho always delivers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We visited early on a Friday evening, straight from work. This is the first time I had been to this branch of Gaucho, similar interior as all the others - dark with lots of cow prints.

We chose the trio of medallions to share with sides of sweet potato and chorizo, black quinoa (highly recommend!) and tomato salad with a carafe of red. All delicious as you would expect

For dessert we had apple pancakes and salted dulce de leche cheesecake - a great finish!

The service was good but perhaps a little full on. Perhaps due to the fact it was early friday evening. She was very sweet but it would have been nice to have been left alone

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“All About the Steaks!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

This was my first experience of a Gaucho restaurant and we were taken there by business colleagues. The restaurant itself is very dark and takes a while for your eyes to adjust! It is underground which means it's never going to have a huge amount of natural light but the decoration of the restaurant (mostly black) certainly doesn't help in re-balancing this out. As a specialty steak restaurant the waitress took some time to bring out a board with various types of steak and go through the various options from the menu. She seemed to be knowledgeable but to be honest a lot of it went right over my head! We had starters, main and a dessert all of which were very tasty. The steak itself (don't ask me which one I ordered) was cooked just as requested and was gorgeous. Certainly one of the best steaks I have had for a long time. This is not a cheap place to eat. The steaks are big and they come with a similar price tag. You will also need to pay extra for all of your sides and this will soon mount up. Clearly this is right in the city of London and therefore prices are on the high side anyway. All things considered if you like your steak then this place would be great; not only for a nice meal but also for a great "steak experience" that you are not going to get at your normal restaurant. However, if you're a vegetarian this might not be the place for you!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great place for a nice steak”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We were lucky enough to have Gaucho in the same building as our hotel.
Decided to eat our first dinner in London here.
Our waiter was really nice, and took her time explaining the different types of steak they served. All three of us chose different a different kind of steak, and we all loved our food.
We came kind of early, so we were almost alone in the restaurant. Which meant we got all the attention from the staff, and got served quickly.
The only negative i have to say about this restaurant, is that every now and then you could smell sigarette smoke. This seemed to come whenever someone from the staff came down from the floor over us.
Absolutely go in for a meal if you are in the neighborhood.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gaucho City also viewed

 

Been to Gaucho City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gaucho City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.