We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1 Drink Only” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dukes Bar

Dukes Bar
St James's Place, London SW1A 1NY, England (St. James's)
+44 20 7491 4840
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #333 of 17,879 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Neighborhood: St. James's
Description: Drinks at DUKES Bar is something of an occasion. The legendary bar is internationally renowned for its famous martinis and personalised cocktails. Frequented by James Bond author Ian Fleming, the bar is said to be the inspiration for the classic line, 'shaken, not stirred'. So whether you're relaxing after a meeting or getting together with friends for special drinks, the intimate and timeless surroundings, coupled with the bartender's knowledge, make it an unforgettable experience.
Bandar Seri Begawan, null, Brunei
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“1 Drink Only”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Cosy place and fantastic drinks. Try their Vesper Martini. One is enough! You will know when you try. Can get quite full and you do have to wait if there is a crowd. Good stop point if you are around Regent Street or Green Park area!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    23
    4
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“Epic experience - definitely worth it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Went here with 3 friends as part of a Bond themed weekend.

We'd done other things before coming here at about 10pm on a Friday night. There were 2 couples in front of us when we got to the lobby to wait - we stood for a few minutes, then once one couple were seated in the bar, we got some seats - it's just an experience to be in the lobby of Dukes. They stop serving non-residents at 11pm but Alessandro managed to find us a table and although we could only order one round, it was still worth the wait and price-tag.

We ordered a mixture of the Vesper cocktails and Vodka Martinis (obviously) - all were priced at around £18 and we got some nibbles (mixed nuts and crisps) too.

I think most people who go here as non-residents go for the same reason and despite being a posh setting, the staff weren't pretentious or rude (as they can be in some places) - it's definitely a highlight of London for me and should be for any true Bond fan.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Best Martinis”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Home of the Martini, not cheap but who's counting when the drinks are this good!! My favourite bar in London

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“This is the Martini experience....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

I have been to this bar many times and love it. It is the proper Martini experience. The Martinis are a joy. They smilingly tolerate the idiots who insist on drinking Vodka drinks with similar ingredients and call them Vodka Martinis. No such drink. A Martini is made with Gin, period. Here, they are expertly made and are a joy to the palate. The Dukes is a gem....

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“Alas”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Since 2003, we have stayed at Dukes Hotel and, on other visits, we have made a point of going back to the bar on numerous occasions for the famous martinis. Our most recent visit was disappointing. You cannot book in advance. My wife and I arrived about 7:30 on a Friday night, a typically busy evening. The white-jacketed host told us it would be a short wait for a table. Understood. He fussed over parties of four and six. We stood for thirty minutes with an empty two top in plain view. We were told it would only be a few minutes, have a seat in the lobby. We just didn't feel welcome. At eight, we left. We each had a couple of double gins around the corner at the Blue Posts, and those four drinks cost us about the price of one of the splendid but uber-expensive Duke's martinis. Cheers. Live and learn.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dukes Bar also viewed

 
London, England
 

Been to Dukes Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dukes Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.