We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looks like New York. sadly english service.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Benugo - Clerkenwell

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Benugo - Clerkenwell
116 St John Street, London EC1V 4JS, England
+44 (0)20 7253 3499
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10,476 of 17,938 Restaurants in London
Price range: $0 - $27
Cuisines: Delicatessen
Restaurant details
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Looks like New York. sadly english service.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

freshly made food to order, and nice surroundings. however the staff are hit and miss, and all to ooften they have run out of soup at 1.10pm!!!! crazy.
expensive, but expected for Clerkenwell. generally could just do better and service needs some serious improvement!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    0
    6
    5
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hythe, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great espresso”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Good Bakewell tart baked each mornig it said. The staff seem bored and disinterested but I could not fault the superb coffee. It is hard to find real and well made espresso coffee but this place does it very well. The cake was great. Ten staff milling around but only two customers - odd.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Rude Staff”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Really rude staff, food not even that great. Visited to get breakfast having never been before went to order a muffin, receipt to take to till was slammed down on counter by rude member of staff, being short I did not see this and left it there, said member of staff never said a word to me or pointed out that I would need it to pay, luckily my boyfriend noticed it when he went to order his muffin.
Then girl on the till obviously couldnt hear me when I said we would like to eat in but was not polite and shouted at me 'eating in' like a statement and a question rather than, 'are you eating in?'.
Paid £11 for 2 small bottles of smoothie and 2 muffins. Totally overpriced.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good but not great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

Benugo has some great food but not enough choice and it is overpriced. It's a real shame as Clerkenwell/Farringdon is spoilt for choice when it comes to restaurants with St. Johns, Hix, Redhook, Bistro Bruno Loubet, Modern Pantry etc etc but no great cafe/deli - for cafes I would rate St. Ali's much higher than Benugo

  • Visited May 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Overpriced, consistently poor service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011 via mobile

I really want to like Benugo but... Despite the trendy and pleasant surroundings and the decent enough food, the quality of staff and hence service and the prices consistently put me off. I can't remember an occasion when my order didn't need repeating or was delivered correctly. The staff are well meaning and friendly enough but just not very good, generally. and it is SO expensive for what's on offer - food isn't that great. Seems to have gone backward since the refurb.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Benugo - Clerkenwell also viewed

 

Been to Benugo - Clerkenwell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Benugo - Clerkenwell, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.