We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“check the bill” 4 of 5 stars
Review of ASK Italian - Spring Street

ASK Italian - Spring Street
41-43 Spring Street | Paddington, London W2 1JA, England (Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate )
+44 20 7706 0707
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,689 of 17,931 Restaurants in London
Price range: $11 - $20
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Neighborhood: Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate 
Description: With a prime location along Spring Street, this ASK Italian restaurant has recently gone through an extensive refurbishment. We've created a restaurant with a distinctive new look inspired by modern Italian design. And with the help of our expert friends, including awarding-winning chef Theo Randall, we've created a menu that features a range of simple, classic Italian food and an all Italian wine list.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“check the bill”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We thourougly enjoy eating here and it has an excellent location near Paddington station. The food was good, the service excellent, however, I'm sorry to eay that this was the second time that I'd presented a voucher for 25% of all food and had it only taken off the deserts. There was no problem correcting this, but the lesson was learnt-check your bills.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    84
    26
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great relaxing place near to chaos paddington station.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

Main thing I notice Ia how relaxing and calm environment just few min away from Paddigton station.
So it's nice place for dinner it lunch. Very nice lighting and Ask Italian good...not five star, but very nice ..

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Perfectly adequate”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

We ate at ASK in June 2013. It was on the list of recommended restaurants from our hotel. The food was good. The salad seemed fresh. The pasta dishes were a little bland but not bad. The service, on the other hand, was lacking. They clearly did not have enough wait staff. The noise level was tolerable - not quiet, but you didn't have to shout to the others at your table. All in all, at the high end of a Macaroni Grill - Olive Garden axis.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egham
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Disappointed on this visit”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Have eaten there previously and much enjoyed. On this visit we wanted fish or meat and not pasta or pizza. There was only choice of two (other than salads) and our first choice was not available (seafood stew) apparently they had no seafood!! Venue felt more like a school canteen than restuarant and we would not hurry back. Staff were very sweet but very young and kitchen staff did not appear very professional - too busy joking around and not enough time spent on actual cooking!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Good but noisy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stayed at the Paddington Hilton around the corner and wanted something tasty and filling after flying in from Hong Kong and this scored on all accounts. This is part of a national chain with which I was not familiar.

The inside was large, noisy and rather barn like and sowe chose a road side table outside the restaurant. It was a beautiful summer evening and we enjoyed a late supper.the place must be popular because at 9:30 they had run out of pasta and pizza dough.what we had was very good, but the pizzas that other were finishing off looked fantastic.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed ASK Italian - Spring Street also viewed

London, England
London, England
 

Been to ASK Italian - Spring Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ASK Italian - Spring Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.