We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good size and location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Marlin Apartments Queen Street

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Marlin Apartments Queen Street to your Saves list
Marlin Apartments Queen Street
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   30 Queen Street, London EC4R 1BR, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #166 of 663 Specialty Lodging in London
Halifax, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good size and location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights. The apartment is a good size however it was exceptionally noisy both Saturday and Sunday nights. We were awake both nights due to building work and what's sounded like scaffolding being loaded on a truck the same time both nights. The location was great for us as we were visiting friends and also the shard. But I wouldn't stay here again we struggled to find anything open on the Sunday night just for a drink within walking distances. However the place was clean well equipped and if you are working in the city it's an excellent location.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CATALINAION, Manager at Marlin Apartments Queen Street, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Sarah W

Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you found us to be well-located and that your apartment was nice and clean.

I am sorry that you found the area to be quite, we can recommend a number of areas to visit which are only a short walk from the building, such as Southbank.

I do hope you will change your mind and that we get the opportunity to welcome you again to Marlin


Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    68
    31
    11
    17
See reviews for
36
46
14
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beijing, China
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Great location for business close to Bank. Just a few steps away from the Thames. Spacious, well-equipped and clean. Smart choice for an extended stay. There are a lot of restaurants nearby, including a Domino Pizza, a Pret, a Thai, and many others. I cooked occasionally during my last two weeks business trip in London. Really quiet in weekends, but actually it's quiet in the entire Bank area during weekends.
Many places of interests are within the walking distance, such as St. Paul's, Tower Bridge, etc.
The rates seem to have been increased a lot during the past two~three years.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CATALINAION, Manager at Marlin Apartments Queen Street, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Richyding

Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you found us to be well-located and that your apartment was nice and clean.

The best rates can be obtained by booking direct, or for the more frequent traveller, please contact our sales team who will assist you with a corporate rate.

Warmest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Only stayed one night so didn't do the place justice but wow spacious apartment,. spotlessly clean
small amount of toiletries in bathroom and also tea and coffee can you ask for more? Concierge would have ordered me a cab but I ended up getting a black one instead, easy to find, M&S just beside cannon st station handy for a few bits and pieces. Cute balcony too, and lovely and warm, wifi no probs, would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: yes with the lower rooms you hear a rumble from the underground but was literally just a rumble and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

So the value for money is relative to London pricing and the customer service is only 3/5 as there was nothing they needed to do for us.
The apartment was staggeringly clean, very spacious, well appointed and spot on for location.
We even noticed that the sofa was also a sofabed, so the stay could be an utter bargain!
We will use Marlin again, but we would note that we could clearly hear the tube under us. Obviously it stops at night, but we would recommend requesting the 2nd floor or above.

Room Tip: Go above the 1st floor. (Tube rumble)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Great location for city in the business and the apartment was well beyond my expectations. Spacious, clean, well-equipped. The staff was friendly and helpful when I had internet issues. The train noise is real, indeed.

One minor area for improvement .... I arrived early and my room was not available. I was not impressed with the bag storage situation -- I was asked to leave my bag in an unsecured room. I had no issues, but it did not offer me a great first impression.

I will be back. Thanks for a nice stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

If you've stayed in other Marlin Apartments, you might find these apartments a little smaller than usual, but the standard if of a similar ilk. Very well presented with excellent fixtures and fittings. Well appointed apartments centrally located. A very viable alternative to a hotel.

Room Tip: Building work was going on literally adjacent to the top floor last time I stayed (finished at 6pm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Property location and amenities great. Noise from Crossrail (?) engineering works (not tube) intolerable. Every 2 minutes a rumbling noise not dissimilar to an aircraft passing overhead continued until past 1.00am and resumed at circa 5.00am - sadly the tubes don't run that regularly. We caught a tube from Mansion House early next morning and could hear the same rumbling noise whilst no trains were passing through. Response to complaint poor so we won't be going back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marlin Apartments Queen Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marlin Apartments Queen Street

Address: 30 Queen Street, London EC4R 1BR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #166 of 663 Specialty Lodging in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marlin Apartments Queen Street 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marlin Queen Street is found in an unparalleled location in the heart of London's financial district, mere moments from the London Stock Exchange, the Bank of England and Paternoster Square. A mere 10-minute journey on the tube away lays the spectacle of the West End; you can enjoy the world’s best musicals, bars and restaurants, making our Queen Street property a hit for weekend leisure breaks.Founded in 2003, Marlin Queen Street is our first development of serviced apartments. Bold in design, this luxury property has sash windows and other architecturally distinct features which make this property one-of-a-kind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and EasyToBook so you can book your Marlin Apartments Queen Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marlin Apartments Queen Street Hotel London
Marlin Apartments Queen Street London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marlin Apartments Queen Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.