We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“never get tired” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Abeno

Abeno
47 Museum Street, London WC1A 1LY, England (Bloomsbury / Holborn)
(020)-7405-3211
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,270 of 18,011 Restaurants in London
Price range: $0 - $71
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Bloomsbury / Holborn
Lisboa
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“never get tired”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Love this place. Plum wine is lovely and food is stunning and cooked right in front of you.Usually incredibly busy and very hot. You will end up smelling of fried food so I recommend to go home right after your meal. Prices are very reasonable. I have been going to this places for over 6 years and is always fantastic.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    74
    17
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Rude and ridiculous”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

The website advertises 'takeaway'- but I was turned away. Rude behaviour- please avoid if god forbid you don't have a reservation on a Thu evening! The food might be passable- but basic decency comes first- no?

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A unique Japanese experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

I've been to a number of Japanese restaurants in different countries, but this experience was unique. Their specialty is Japanese pancakes "Okonomiyaki" (made of flour, grated nagaimo, water, eggs and shredded cabbage, green onion and is topped with your choose of meat, seafood or tofu). Its prepared right in front of you, so you get to interact with the chef and add or reduce ingredients.

Service is great, place is very cozy, and very friendly staff. Great Saki and side dishes. I had the tempura and salmon sahsimi as a starer, and the beef okono miyaki as a main. absolutely loved it!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great post-museum lunch!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

My husband and I had a great lunch here after visiting the British Museum. I'm half Japanese and have eaten okonomiyaki both in the U.S. and Japan, and can say they do a good job at Abeno. The wait staff are all Japanese, and make the okonomiyaki on the table in front of you, which has a grill in the center. We ordered an appetizer of shrimp and asparagus gyoza, also made at the table and it was delicious. The okonomiyaki was grilled up to perfection with just the right amount of color and crunch. They offer the traditional toppings of tonkatsu sauce, mayonnaise, bonito shavings and powdered seaweed, but also had a small bottle of cheese sauce as well. They leave the sauces for you at the table. They have yakisoba on the menu as well as several other items, and when we arrived around 2pm they were offering a nice lunch special. Although these weren't the largest okonomiyaki I've seen, they do offer a larger size if you're extra hungry.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Amazing introduction to Japanese food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

I was introduced to this place by a friend. They make amazing Japanese pancakes (okonomi-yaki) right at the table in front of you. These come in 2 sizes, with a variety of fillings & toppings, and are served with Japanese sauces. The sake selection is superb, service is really good; the waiter cooking at your table is normally good humoured and very attentive.
This is not formal dining, but instead is really social. I happily take groups of friends and have never had a bad experience in a half dozen visits.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Abeno also viewed

 

Been to Abeno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abeno, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.