We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real touch of Italy in the City” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bolton's

Bolton's
13 Cullum Street | Monument, London EC3M 7JJ, England (City of London)
0207 929 1981
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4,778 of 17,039 Restaurants in London
Price range: $49 - $98
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: City of London
Description: London's Bolton's Restaurant is a popular City haunt, offering a simple combination of fresh Italian flavours and laid back but stylish atmosphere. Tucked down a side road just off of Fenchurch Street, Bolton's has long been a favourite of the high powered bankers and businessmen of the local area, earning a reputation as a place to network and entertain. With its subtle hints of luxury and affluence the Bolton's dining room is unpretentious and timeless, very much like its cuisine. A tour of Italy's famous culinary regions, the Bolton's menu is hearty but elegant, every dish given the unique flavour of this high end restaurant through the use of good ingredients and stunning presentation.
Birmingham
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Real touch of Italy in the City”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

First impressions were doubtful as the restaurant was surrounded by building work however as soon as I walked thru the main doors this was dispelled. A really buzzy atmosphere and really old fashioned Italian feel hit me. The service was impeccable, they are obviously used to getting people fed in their lunch hour!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    8
    5
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Old fashion Italain Cuisine but tast was alright”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

Had a lunch with my colleague. It was quite old fashioned the way of deco and the ways of guest being served, which I quite like. The portion of the dish is just huge which I cannot fish. The taste was good but not outstanding. The price is a little bit overpriced.

Over all 60 out of 100.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich, Connecticut
Top Contributor
283 reviews 283 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
“High End”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

This is a comfortable high end establishment. There were 4 in our party and we enjoyed wonderful shared appetizers and a variety of steaks that were cooked to perfection. The wine list was small but contained good classic quality. The homemade desserts were glorious in taste and presentation. Yes, it was pricey.....but worth it.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“One of the enduring classics”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

London has thousands of restaurant choices so why choose the same one time after time ? Simply consistent standards and friendliest welcome anywhere. Bolton's is in the right location for people in my business, so great to meet up with friends and colleagues, but this in itself would not be enough. The fact is the decor and buzzing atmosphere coupled with the superb staff set the right mood the minute you arrive. The food ,whilst not exceptional, is very good indeed. On my last visit I ate a superb fillet steak of very generous proportions and three of us too full for pudding did give in and try tiramisu for one with three spoons ! Delicious. Goes without saying that we will return.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
210 reviews 210 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
“A City fixture!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

I have been in this restaurant many many times. It truly is a very well established (and run) City institution. Located just off Leadenhall Market and 2 minutes walk from the Lloyd's Building this is a 'must go' restaurant if you are in this part of town. The staff have been there for years. They are always very friendly and if they know you they always make you feel very welcome and partake in a little bit of friendly banter! The menu is extensive and is always served to a high standard and the restaurant also has a very good wine list selection to suit all tastes...and pockets! The decor and furnishings are a little bit 80's if I am being honest but other than that you really can't fault this restaurant. Highly recommend.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bolton's also viewed

 

Been to Bolton's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bolton's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.