We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very satisfied customer” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Meze Mangal

Meze Mangal
245 Lewisham Way,, London SE4 1XF, England
020 8694 8099
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #468 of 18,003 Restaurants in London
Price range: $19 - $39
Cuisines: Turkish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Leicester, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Very satisfied customer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014 via mobile

Came to London to see son and daughter . Son booked and the meal was brilliant all had different dishes and everyone was superb.The atmosphere and fact it was full on Sunday night speaks for itself. If in the area go you will not be disappointed.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    215
    47
    13
    8
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
LONDON
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Great place to eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

This was our first visit to the Meze Mangal and it won't be the last. They fitted six of us in at a very busy time and we all thoroughly enjoyed it. Very friendly staff - great food and wine - very reasonable prices. Can't wait for the next visit.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“An old favourite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

We've been coming to Meze Mangal for about 15 years and it has been the place where we have celebrated numerous birthdays and other occasions with family and friends. Last night we were there for a friends birthday and our first visit since the refurbishment. As ever the welcome was warm and the food delicious. None of the food is fancy, but it's great quality and pretty healthy. The lamb is the highlight and the Kalamar.
What always astonishes us is how the bill is always less that we expect for such a brilliant evening out. This is the place we return to again and again and we'll be coming here (we hope) for many more years.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Welcome back - favourite local restaurant.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

This was our first visit to the newly refurbished Meze Mangal. My friends and I have been coming here for around 12 years and really missed it when it was closed for the duration of the building work. We were celebrating a birthday last night and had a lovely evening, the food was great, the atmosphere buzzy and as usual, the service excellent. You just feel very well looked after. Thank you and all the best to all at Meze Mangal - the new space works very well and we are looking forward to our next visit.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Brilliant food, lovely refurbishment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

I visited recently and, having never been to Meze Mangal before, I didn't know what to expect. The refurbishment has left it looking beautiful inside, although there are no heaters/radiators in the toilets which, particularly on a brisk January night, meant they were bone chillingly cold, not the ideal temperature for one to expose sensitive parts of their skins! The restaurant had a fantastic atmosphere, there was a grill on view to customers so every so often there would be a spurt of flames. The service was ok, the waiter forgot my starter and drink but it was incredibly busy, both eat in and take out but the service then on was good, when received the food was exquisite, easily the best Turkish food I've had. In terms of value, it was 12.95 for a shish kebab with vegetables and bread, I would have hoped for something more substantial to accompany it rather than bread for that price but you do get 8 chunks of lamb which as I say, is delicious. The beer was nice too, I had a Turkish beer that had a nice honey after taste to it. I'm very impressed and will be going again when they add heaters to the toilets or in the summer!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Meze Mangal also viewed

 
Hounslow, Middlesex
London, England
 

Been to Meze Mangal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Meze Mangal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.