We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return to an old favorite” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Archduke

The Archduke
Concert Hall Approach | South Bank, London SE1 8XU, England (Waterloo / South Bank / Southwark)
020 7928 9370
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Archduke is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4,038 of 18,011 Restaurants in London
Price range: $47 - $62
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Waterloo / South Bank / Southwark
Las Cruces, NM
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Return to an old favorite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

One of the problems in going back to old favorites after a few year's absence is that one's memories are often better than the current experience. Happily, that wasn't the case with our recent visit to the Archduke.

It was just as we remember it, a bit artsy in atmosphere with the occasional train rumble over head, an attentive wait staff and good food well prepared. The restaurant is conveniently located close to the South Bank Complex with the National Theatre, Festival Hall and the Cinema museum. I had a pre-theatre lunch off the set menu with a live tart, braised and seared pork belly and an "apple pie." The tart and pork belly were flavorful and unctuous. I put pie in quotes because, to an American, it wasn't really a pie but more like an apple cake with chunks of apple. That said, it was an A+ desert, light, sweet and served with a warm crème anglaise. My only complaint, if you could call it that, was that it was rather rich for a pre-theatre repast! Fortunately, "The Elephantom" at the the NT Shed was lively enough to keep me awake!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    126
    44
    18
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Not special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Nice ribeye and fries in OK (just) restaurant with a threadbare carpet, accompanied by boring salad, served by OK staff. Place looks rather tired and is not a patch for décor or buzz (or indeed food experience) on its new sister Black & Blue restaurant a few yards away. Irritating and increasingly common arbitrarily-applied 12.5% optional "service" charge completed a generally un-special picture. Unlikely to go back.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Top Contributor
219 reviews 219 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“'OK, but seemed to lack atmosphere'”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

We were in the south bank area and looking for a place to have an early dinner with a young daughter and came across Archdukes. It's publicised as great for cocktails, steak and Jazz.
They were happy to accommodate us since we hadn't booked but were told we had to be finished by 7.15 as they were fully booked, which wasn't a problem.
The place seems to lack atmosphere at this time of the day although I'm sure this changes later on. Didn't seem to be child friendly, no high hairs or kids menu offered. Food was ok nothing special. Steaks looked expensive.
Service was good though and the guy who served us was friendly. Note though they automatically add 12.5% service charge to your bill.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

The food is presented well and is very tasty, me and my girlfriend had two different types of steak and they were cooked exactly how we had asked, the atmosphere was very relaxing and hearing the odd train coming over the bridge was a nice reminder of where the restaurant is situated - under a railway bridge!
Service was friendly but was a little miffed at the 12.5% service charge being added to the bill, I like to give what I feel the service deserves!
But as a whole it was a relaxing and enjoyable evening.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croxley Green, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Good atmosphere in this arty place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

I like the Archduke for drinks and food before or after a concert on the South Bank. It's usually busy, and you're liable to bump into musicians and actors from the South Bank Centre. The selection of wines and beers is good, and staff, though often worked off their feet, are friendly and do their best. You may not get a gastronomic experience here, but the food is good and there's a fairly wide selection. Jazz from a duo or trio is great, and if you want to go to a place with a buzz, this is the best option locally.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Archduke also viewed

 

Been to The Archduke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Archduke, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.