We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not fancy, not to everyone's taste, but a comfy place to get your head down. Good honest b & b” 4 of 5 stars
Review of At-Home B&B Chiswick

At-Home B&B Chiswick
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added At-Home B&B Chiswick to your Saves list
At-Home B&B Chiswick
2.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   45 Glebe Street | Chiswick, London W4 2BE, England (Chiswick)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #291 of 524 London B&B and Inns
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Not fancy, not to everyone's taste, but a comfy place to get your head down. Good honest b & b”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Visited this b & b last November with my husband as we were in London on a business/pleasure trip. Booked here firstly for the price, secondly for the closeness to the tube and my business associates hotel, he stayed at the Moran!

If you're expecting a swanky b & b look elsewhere, however if you're looking for somewhere cheap, with a good location and comfy pillows
this is the place for you!

Would recommend and would book again!

Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    4
    5
    1
    11
See reviews for
5
11
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

Reviews seem to take extreme views........my experience is very middle of the road.
The location was excellent, close to the Tube and to the Science Park where I had a meeting. There are numerous eating places close by. I arranged an arrival time with the owner via email and was made most welcome. Due to a cancellation my room was larger than the one booked. It was clean and very comfortable with a bookcase full of old books and walls covered in the owner's art. You know that there is only a shared bathroom so this shouldn't come as a surprise. The bathroom was quite clean.
You are able to use the kitchen to make tea/coffee and prepare your own breakfast. I'm afraid that the whole experience was spoiled by the rather grubby state of the kitchen. I'm not overly fussy but frankly, the plates and cutlery were dirty. The cupboard doors needed a good clean.
This colours your overall impression of the location.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunswick, Maine
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014 via mobile

Very convenient to Heathrow - 5 minute walk from Turnham Green on District Line - in an attractive suburb, Chiswick, with good restaurant and pub choices. Rooms are small, as expected in this price range; bed was very comfortable; downstairs shower is A rated. Bob is a welcoming host and an accomplished artist.

Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

We stayed at Bobs for one night for a wedding and loved it. The place has loads of character and he was a great host, letting us come and go freely and wasn't imposing at all. The house is full of his and other peoples art which was fascinating to look at. It was a really pleasant surprise to did ourselves there after leaving hotel booking to the last minute. We would happily stay there again, the house was clean and tidy and the kitchen was fully stocked for breakfast for us. We couldn't fault it for value and for comfort, for the price this place is a great find. Thankyou for having us in your lovely home!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014 via mobile

I had the misfortune to book this vile property via a website that does not reveal the property name prior to payment. Had I the benefit of reviews I would have stayed well away. Located in a seedy row of tenement houses near Chiswick High Street ( the only positive being this proximity) this sorry property is actually a private home with several crummy rooms for rent upstairs accessed by a skinny narrow creaking stairway. The entire property is covered in sticky grime. The advertised "private bathroom" is shared by guests and is horribly misleading as it is public not private! There are 2 to choose from. Both are decrepit, dirty and lack amenities. Floors are filthy, doors are grimy and ill fitting. The noise throughout this house at night is shocking. I could hear someone snoring from below me. I awoke to loud voices, creaking floors and hammering. There is " grass roots" and there is a " con perpetrated on the public" At Home is the latter. How the " host" can look guests in the eye and take their hard- earned money for this totally inhospitable property beggars belief. Notwithstanding having paid for 2 nights in advance I quickly departed one day early and was so thrilled to be gone I happily forfeited the second nights fee. PLEASE do not stay here. Even if free. There is nothing charming or delightful about this experience. The host has a chip on his shoulder and is brusque, matter of fact and seems not to give a toss. The fault lies with sites that offer "At Home" to an unsuspecting public. Clearly this property is not fit for paid hospitality. All the negative reviews are valid. I have never been more eager to depart an establishment as I have "at home Chiswick". Were there an option to give ZERO stars - I would select it to best describe this property.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england uk
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

Don't believe the nonsense that you read below....what great value in a wonderful location in the best city in the world.....Bob is a wonderful host and has an amazing art collection and is so welcoming in his own house......breakfast is what it is...help yourself and all of it top notch quality...a good size bedroom and a decent bathroom, and all this for the price!!! Amazing.....we will definitely be back!!! Love the 1950's French table football in the middle of the living area......little terrace below and outside the bedroom, and best of all?? So peaceful and quiet...best night's sleep we have had in years....walking distance form wonderful shops, an amazing second hand bookshop and a top notch Indian restaurant.....we loved Bob's place!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

This bed and breakfast was an ideal experience—a quiet home in a nice neighborhood where we were free to make our own breakfast and come and go as we pleased. The home itself is a unique and beautiful place to stay, and the owner was helpful and easy going. We highly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to At-Home B&B Chiswick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about At-Home B&B Chiswick

Address: 45 Glebe Street | Chiswick, London W4 2BE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Chiswick
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #291 of 524 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — At-Home B&B Chiswick 2*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your At-Home B&B Chiswick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
At-Home b&b Chiswick Hotel London
At-Home Bed And Breakfast Chiswick
At-Home B&B Chiswick London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage At-Home B&B Chiswick, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.