We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“food excellent . staff warm. yeah busy but can't kick that” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sakara Bar & Restaurant

Sakara Bar & Restaurant
372 Aigburth Road | Aigburth, Liverpool L17 6AE, England
0151 427 2200
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #103 of 1,209 Restaurants in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“food excellent . staff warm. yeah busy but can't kick that”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

have been to sakara on numerous occasions and yes when busy the staff are challenged but always friendly and responsive 'unless you want it now' but anybody who compares the internal quality to that outside is sadly and gladly mistaken as sakara have never been permitted to have outside tables

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    9
    2
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“What a Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Great place to meet up with friends, the food was excellent, great selection of tapas, The service was good, nice friendly staff. I believe they do a great Breakfast Menu on Sunday mornings, can't wait to try it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Relaxed and welcoming a real find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

I tried this restaurant on the advice of a friend and I was not dissapointed. A lovely welcome, great food and friendly service added up to a wonderful evening for myself and my wife. I really can't say enough about this place - check it out for yourself.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Unbelievably bad - Avoid like the plague!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We thought we'd give Sakara, on Aigburth Road a second chance after a fairly negative experience a few weeks earlier due to sloppy service... how wrong we were.

Upon arrival we found ourselves struggling to find a member of staff that would actually give us the time of day. Having waited approx 10 minutes without even a nod of the head or a slight smile we were finally acknowledged by someone who came across as extremely bored and nonchalant. Time to look for a new job.

After finally being shown a seating area we found our seats inside the restaurant were not much better than those outdoors, uncomfortable and cheap with the table having dustings of crumbs and smears of what we believed to be ketchup or sauce stains on. We seated ourselves at the cleanest table we could find. Looking around, I only noticed two other customers. Since it was lunchtime on a Saturday afternoon, this should have been my second warning signal!!

After looking through the cheap and limited menu we decided to order. Our 3rd and final mistake. Beef kebabs overcooked & chewy, Fire Cracker Rice that was undercooked, Calamari that was no different than chewing on elastic bands, and scallops that were overcooked by a good 10 minutes! How much can a place get wrong in one go?

'Fortunately' the owner happened to see there was an issue and came over to ask what the problem was – what an absolute waste of time this also turned out to be. After a few ‘’unsatisfactory words’’ we paid for our drinks and flat out refused to pay a penny for the awful food. Naturally no tip was left.

A most disappointing experience and one that I feel others should be made aware of. All in all I would recommend steering well clear of this place. It is without doubt the worst restaurant we've ever been to in the Liverpool area. And the ‘’service’’ has to be seen to be believed!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Cosy Bistro, Lovely Food, relaxed atmosphere.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Interesting Tapas cooked very well.
The Salmon had a creative combination of flavours going on and was cooked to perfection.... visited about a month ago, so cannot be specific on the other small plates.
We had 3 dishes each - and it was just enough.
We will be returning!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sakara Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Liverpool, Merseyside
Liverpool, Merseyside
 
Liverpool, Merseyside
Liverpool, Merseyside
 

Been to Sakara Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sakara Bar & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.