We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Formby Beach

Formby Beach
Victoria Road | Merseyside, Liverpool L37 1LJ, England
1704 878591
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #56 of 133 attractions in Liverpool
Type: Beaches
Attraction Details
England, UK
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Perfect in everyway, so clean and peaceful and very beautiful. It was very quiet and so relaxing that you can walk for hours

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    31
    11
    5
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
lancashire
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Nice for a walk”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We have been to Formby beach many times, It is nice if you enjoy walking, theres the woods with lots of wildlife too and the long beach nice views and jellyfish to see,.

Some of the problems here are: Its a dog walkers paradise so theres loads of them, many off leads and often jump up at my children which scares them lots, people need to be more respectful and only take well trained dogs off leads or if no one is around. We used to spend time sitting on the beach many years ago but because of the dog problems here we only go here to walk now and not to sit, its not the sort of beach you go to sunbathe on.

From the car park its quite a long walk over the sand dunes to get to the flat beach, there used to be lovely paths from the car park but are sadly all covered in sand dunes now so you cannot take pushchairs onto the beach any more like you used to be able to do. Also the toilets are a very long walk from the beach, they are near the forest where you can walk, this does put us off going here with young children as its too far to walk to the toilets from the beach.

There is a charge to get into Formby beach before you get to the car park so you need money on you in the car to get in, £5 I think it was but im not sure as national trust members park for free.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Lovely afternoon walk”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Went there today to walk my dog, parked in the car park and walked one of the many well labelled paths to the sand dunes then on to the beach. The beach was quiet and a little messy with rubbish but apart from that it was a nice afternoon walk but I think they should have more rubbish bins as I don't think there were enough. Would definitely return as I think it is a lovely beach but could be made better.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“A Little Piece of Paradise in the UK!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

It's rare to get decent "go to the beach" weather in the UK, but when we do I always head to Formby Beach, its peaceful and easy to get to, well away from the hustle of Southport Beach. Plenty of space not to be bothered by people!

On a sunny day I'd advise to get there early, the car park fills up (£5 for the day) though you can park in the surrounding streets for free, but again, soon fills up and it can be a trek to the actual beach.

Facilities wise..well..there are loo's as you go into the car park, small cafe and an ice-cream van in the car park..but that's it! It's up to you to bring what you need..but PLEASE take your rubbish home with you or put in the bin bags provided. Otherwise chill out and enjoy!

Interesting fact, used Christmas trees are planted in the dunes to stop them disintergratng..they turn bright red and are actually quite stunning against the sand (they take the decorations off!)

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormskirk, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Good day out.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Easy to get to and important easy to park. Plenty of space in the dunes. The dogs love it . They can have a good run or/and a good splash in the water.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Formby Beach also viewed

Liverpool, Merseyside
Liverpool, Merseyside
 
Liverpool, Merseyside
Liverpool, Merseyside
 

Been to Formby Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Formby Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Formby Beach to your Saves list