We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sadly not nearly as good this time !” 3 of 5 stars
Review of MEET Argentinian Restaurant

MEET Argentinian Restaurant
50 Brunswick Street, City Centre, Liverpool L2 0PL, England (Central Liverpool)
0151 258 1816
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #161 of 1,042 restaurants in Liverpool
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Central Liverpool
ashford
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Sadly not nearly as good this time !”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

The food is great, don't get me wrong. But ... service was not :( I chose to come here for my birthday from a previous visit in September when it was lovely. Despite having booked there was no table for us, none of the staff really wanted to wait on table when we did finally sit down.
It was a shame because the steaks a great but we really felt that we were an inconvenience.
Not sure whether give it another chance - sadly not a great celebratory meal.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

76% Recommend
    154
    84
    38
    21
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“You'll think you're in Argentina”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Well almost. My husband and I have eaten here three times, once two years ago, and twice this past October, 2013. We enjoyed it every time, that's why we keep coming back when in Liverpool. We have eaten at some similar restaurants in Buenos Aires so we feel this is authentic. We had the shrimp appetizer last time that I would rate just ok. The shrimp were small and drowning in garlic butter. But we both had the 10oz filet recommended by the waiter as the most tender and we found it to be quite tender and tasty. The chimichurri sauce served with the steak at no extra charge was quite good as well. The service was excellent. You have to have a reservation on the weekends to even get to go up the stairs to the restaurant. They seem to do a very good business with many of the women quite dressed up.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“The best steak your ever going to try”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Ignore the oooohhh dont get it reviews its a lie moist seasoned steak amazing chips blue cheese sauce is a must, black pudding starter and sausage and the prawns are sooo good i come 2 this place at least twice a month to get my meet fix you have been warned its addictive!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“I don't get it!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

I don't understand it's popularity.
Steak and salad, same salad for every dish, the salad is sat on the front of the open plan kitchen in the warm restaurant, not chilled at all, I had a fairly large steak, I can't remember the cut to be fair, it was of a good size, but not that well seasoned.
High point, the service was good.
This place is very basic old pub.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
“great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

i hav travelled a lot around many parts of the world having worked on the cruise ships but i hav yet to taste anything like the steaks in this restaurant, last time i went there was argentinians eating in there so that is a good sign and says it all. absolutely beautiful cooked steaks just the way you ask for it staff are lovely and atmosphere was great i am going tomorrow and very much looking forward to it mouth watering thinking about it

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed MEET Argentinian Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to MEET Argentinian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MEET Argentinian Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.