We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Buffet Star - CLOSED

Buffet Star
Hanover street, Liverpool L1, England
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Buffet, Late Night
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Good value for money , great service and good selection of food . Manager very pleasant and staff very pleasant .

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

68% Recommend
    48
    60
    22
    9
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Really disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

I appreciate this is a cheap way to eat but the food had very little flavour. The sauces were thin and insipid. We had to queue even though tables were free and they didn't appear to be booked. The staff did not appear to be in a hurry to seat people. Would I go back again? The answer would have to be no!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Ok but wont be going back”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

I have been here quite a few times but on my last 2 visits I have found a hair and a dead fly in my food needless to say this has put me off going back. The food is nice as are the staff and since my last visit it has received a lot of bad publicity regarding cleanliness. It has apparently cleaned up now so I would recommend it as up until my last 2 bad experiences I never had a bad word to say. Great value for money too.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Very very good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

The staff were attentive and friendly for a Chinese restaurant.The buffet servery was kept clean and a good selection of foods were available at a reasonable price.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Widnes UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Clean & Tidy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We decided not to visit the Buffet Star again after the bad publicity regarding food hygiene earlier on in the year. Anyway, we thought we'd give it another go as we always enjoyed it there in the past. The place was clean & tidy (hopefully the kitchen was too) there seemed to be a number of new staff who were extremely helpful & friendly. The food was way up to standard with plenty of choice. I'll keep my eyes open for any future reviews and hope they now keep up the excellent standards that should be expected of them.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buffet Star also viewed

Liverpool, Merseyside
Liverpool, Merseyside
 
Liverpool, Merseyside
Liverpool, Merseyside
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buffet Star, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.