We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, great service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Damons

Damons
The Old Airport | Speke Boulevard, Liverpool L24 HQD, England
0151 494 3322
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #526 of 1,123 Restaurants in Liverpool
Price range: $11 - $17
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Dessert, Late Night, Reservations
Durham
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Good food, great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

I stayed nearby in the Crowne Plaza so it was very handy to have Damons on the doorstep.
The menu had plenty of choice and I had the Fajitas.
It was very tasty and came in good time.
Rachel the young girl who served us was very friendly and helpful.
Nothing was too much her trouble, when i mentioned it was my birthday as another table were singing Happy Birthday to a relative.
At the end of the meal she popped up with a little cake which i thought was really thoughtful.
Great stuff!!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    111
    82
    41
    66
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lengthy wait & overpriced food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Went here for family birthday celebration as had been in the past and the food had been excellent. We had booked a table and upon arrival the restaurant was half full and we still had to wait 20 minutes for our table.What we got was extremely slow service (took over hour for main course to arrive) , food on plastic plates which was overpriced , overcooked and small portions. We complained to the manager who to be honest did not seem interested and was more concerned with chatting and joking with the staff! We should have gone over the road to Mcdonalds!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Ok for taking the family to but nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Damons is great for taking the family to and especially for young Birthday parties. There is a varied menu with both meat and fish. There is also a wide variety of desserts. Bar has the usual offerings including an assortment of cocktails.
Great onion roll.
Also if I am not mistaken they do special offers for your Birthday...but take your passport or like to prove it.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Always a winner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

I've being going here for years with my family for special occasions, and I still love it. Never had a bad experience food or service wise. The decor and atmosphere and music make it really comfortable for a enjoyable night out.

For holidays I'd advise to book in advance as can get really busy, the food over the years on the menu hasn't really changed which I don't mind as so varied. The waiters/waitresses are friendly and give great service.

A few things have changed since the first visit like the plate size which was downsized to plastic ones but food portion still good, also the bread which was changed to plain rolls and recently the chips from big homemade to american fries but all still lovely!!

My favorite is the coleslaw I could eat it all day! Worth the price and will be returning :-)

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Not great”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

Went here as staying at the crown plaza and had enough of hotel food. Thought this would be better. Ribs as starter good but steak as main was very poor, over cooked, to much salt and all in all over priced for what you get. On the plus side quick service. Sorry Crown Plaza should have eaten with you.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Damons also viewed

Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Lincoln, Lincolnshire
 

Been to Damons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Damons, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.