We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent City Centre Deluxe Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hard Days Night Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hard Days Night Hotel to your Saves list
Hard Days Night Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Central Buildings, North John Street, Liverpool L2 6RR, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Winter in The City
Ranked #21 of 99 Hotels in Liverpool
Holmfirth
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent City Centre Deluxe Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Superb range of food and drink - service excellent.
Room was extremely comfortable and quiet - dispite overlooking the city centre. Location is second to non, with all city centre locations a few minutes walk away.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    688
    350
    151
    87
    59
See reviews for
187
649
43
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Went with my 3 daughters as a birthday treat, as I love the Beatles. The girl on reception when we arrived needs a good shake, to say the least...good hotel but check in was not as smooth as it should have been. This girl hadn't a clue when our rooms would be ready, knew nothing about our booking for the Magical Mystery Tour...we didn't get the rooms requested, we were on separate floors, when we asked our rooms to be as close as possible ! Also there was scaffolding outside our bedroom and we were wakened very early when the workmen started their days shift.....I think they charge far too much for such rotten service...not even a 'enjoy your stay with us' or 'hope you enjoyed your stay'

Room Tip: I spoke to a couple who were staying in the Premier Inn and they were very impressed with their acco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashton in Makerfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Hotel was fine, we chose it for the view from the balcony which was amazing, but the only thing that disappointed me was the air conditioner. No matter what we did, it still was freezing cold and kept blowing cold air instead of 25C!!!!! Food was very good. Not to mention the style of this place. We will be back there if you fix air conditioner!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

I booked the hotels Magical Mystery Tour package as a treat for my mum's birthday. She was VERY excited as she had never been to Liverpool despite being a Beatles fan all her days! I also booked a room for my two sisters.
Unfortunately, the hotel did not live up to our high expectations. Upon arrival we were told that only one room was ready. The girl at the desk seemed to struggle a bit with her English as she explained that she would have to call housekeeping to find out when our second room would be available. She explained we could wait in the room that was ready for her to let us know when the 2nd was ready.
I agreed to pay for both rooms there and then before going upstairs. As I paid I asked her to confirm that both rooms were twin rooms. When we arrived in the first room it was made up as a double.
I also asked her for details of our Mystery Tour Package. She looked confused and replied 'i do not know' and then told us she would find out for us.
When our 2nd room was ready, I went down to reception and collected the keys, then asked again about our mystery tour. Again, she replied that she did not know and would find out for us. Thankfully, a gentleman who was standing behind the desk overheard and booked us into the last 4 slots for the tour - just as well we didnt sit about and wait!
Our hotel room windows were covered by scaffolding. We were not made aware of any likely disturbance at check-in so assumed that any ongoing work would not be anything that would disturb us. Wrong! Each member of our party were awoken at 6.30am on both mornings with the sounds of lorries and workmen arriving at the hotel. Our room window in particular was on the route of a elevator for the workers on the scaffolding, which made the room shake when it was travelling up and down, and resulted in us having to keep our curtains drawn for obvious privacy reasons. Not that our view was any good anyway!
As a result of all the noise, each member of our party has returned home absolutely shattered. The quality of sleep was terrible.
On our first morning when we went for breakfast, we were pointed to a table for us to sit at. We sat down, a bit unsure of what was what. We read a card on the table that read tea and coffee and toast would be served to our table. We decided to go help ourselves to the buffet style breakfast and on return there was still no sign of said tea/coffee/toast. After about 15 minutes a member of our party had to go ask for it to be brought over. It was brought over with no offer of an apology and certainly without any friendly smile...
The next evening as we were preparing to go out, I dropped an earring which landed just under the desk in our room. When I bent down to look for it, I discovered a dusty lip balm that had somehow been missed when cleaning. Don't know how long it could have been there for!
When the tiresome stay was over and it was time to check-out, the same girl was on the reception desk again. I asked to check-out and she took our room keys from me and clicked away at the computer. After a pause she said 'that is it, there is nothing to pay'. I was a bit miffed - she did not ask how our stay was, or wish us a safe journey.. Not even as much as a goodbye!
In the end, I couldnt wait to get home. It's such a shame the service and noise was so bad. The hotel was lovely, great decor, every Beatles fans dream! Bar Four served great cocktails and the hotel was within walking distance to nearby shopping and Albert Docks attractions.
The service let it down completely and at a cost of approx. £700 for our party's stay, I can't help but feeling I should have perhaps booked elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We stayed the Sunday of my birthday weekend. It is really central which has good and bad points.
Good. Everywhere is easy to get to.
Bad. Can hear noise from the street. On Monday morning we could hear the lorries loading and unloading.

The hotel itself is fantastic and a must for any Beatle fan.
The rooms are of the highest quality and had both a bath and shower room.
Our room was street facing.
We arrived at the hotel early but were allowed to check in 2 hours early which was nice.

The bar was good but rather pricey.

Room Tip: I would choose a room away from the street next time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike57d, General Manager at Hard Days Night Hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. I hope we played our part in you having a terrific 60th birthday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

This was by far and above the worst supposedly 4 star hotel I have ever experienced.We arranged with management for guests to join us for an after function drink. When the guests arrived they were refused entry by what can only be described as. in polite terms over zealous security people with absolutely no social skills.When we demanded to see the manager we were treated with utter contempt it was only when all 8 of us threatened to cancel any sort of compromise was reached.When we reached the bar we were told the only draught beer was becks my partner complained that for a 4 star hotel 1 beer was paltry we were then told they had others but were finishing in10 minutes so it wasnt worth it.I could go on about the residents bar but suffice to say things got no better cant pay with cash can pay with cash no till found a till.I live 4 miles from town I have never been so ashamed of any facility attaching itself to liverpool and the beatles that attract so many tourists.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
merseyside
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed over at this hotel quite a few times... And can never fault it... But if you are looking for a good Bar... Great service and on Saturday evenings a little bit if musical entertainment... Start here... It gets busy... So sometimes standing room only but it's has a really good atmosphere ... Fantastic service... Keeps you wanting more!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike57d, General Manager at Hard Days Night Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
So gald you enjoy the Bar I know the girls and boys who work in there will be thrilled with your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hard Days Night Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hard Days Night Hotel

Address: Central Buildings, North John Street, Liverpool L2 6RR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Liverpool
#15 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
#17 Family Hotel in Liverpool
#27 Business Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hard Days Night Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hard Days Night Hotel Beatles Boutique Hotel LiverpoolA 'Fab Four' star Liverpool hotel. Hard Days Night Hotel is the worlds only Beatles inspired hotel, combining the highest quality facilities in a truly unique environment. Located at the heart of Liverpool's 'Beatles Quarter' offering luxurious accommodation and exclusive event space with a twist. Housed in the magnificent Grade II listed Central Buildings, dating back to 1884, the beautifully restored hotel is steeped in history. All 110 rooms are individually designed around the contours of the original building and elegantly furnished with specially commissioned Beatles-inspired artwork adorning the walls. The hotel's restaurant Blake's, named after the celebrated Sergeant Pepper album cover and artist Sir Peter Blake, serves up a range of classic British dishes along with home cooked favourites. Bar Four offers guests a high-end destination cocktail bar, open to all who enjoy that little extra. Sitting adjacent to the world famous Cavern Club where the Beatles rose to fame, and an array of the city's famous Beatles landmarks, the hotel not only offers the perfect getaway for visitors, but is much loved by art lovers, music lovers, and food lovers alike. There are places to rememberAnd then there is the Hard Days Night Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hard Days Night Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hard Days Night Liverpool
Hotel Hard Days Night

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hard Days Night Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.