We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint restaurant with nice staff.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ego Mediterranean Restaurant - Liverpool

Ego Mediterranean Restaurant - Liverpool
Hope Street, Liverpool L1 9BW, England
+44 (0)151 706 0707
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #63 of 1,042 restaurants in Liverpool
Price range: $16 - $51
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Situated in the FOODIE district of Liverpool, adjacent to the world renowned LIVERPOOL PHILHARMONIC, Ego Liverpool is perfect for that quick lunch or more relaxed four course meal.
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Quaint restaurant with nice staff.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

Out of 10? A good 6. The staff are lovely and their attention to detail is great. The food however just appeared to be a bit rushed. Obviously it could have been a one off but my steak was pretty poorly cooked. I would recommend this place for a light lunch but a couples night? No.
Handy tip... Use vouchercloud (phone app) as they are usually advertising a discounted rate on the al la carte menu.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne R, Guest Relations Manager at Ego Mediterranean Restaurant - Liverpool, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Thank you for your review, we appreicate all feedback from our customers and we hope that you will come back and visit us again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    136
    75
    26
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Lovely atmosphere and friendly staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

Me and my partner were really impressed with the staff at Ego! We were greeted with a really friendly host when we arrived and our waiter was chatty and polite throughout the meal. Bringing the specials board over to our table was a nice, personal touch. The food was delicious, the staff were brilliant and the atmosphere was great! Would definitely recommend!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne R, Guest Relations Manager at Ego Mediterranean Restaurant - Liverpool, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Thank you for your kind words, we love hearing from all our customers and we look foward to seeing you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Super restaurant,great location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We've been going to Ego in Liverpool since it opened as it's right next door to the Philharmonic Hall. It's also convenient for both cathedrals & only a short walk into the centre.
The staff are excellent,well-trained, friendly & you never have to wait long for service. Bryson the manager is first class.
The menu is extensive. They do a prix fixe menu & and a la carte. You can get 30% off if you join their mailing list. Very good value. It gets very busy on concert nights so you should book.
The atmosphere is good, people of all ages eat there & the decor is smart but relaxed.
This time we had calamari fritti & deep fried Camembert to start then we both had sea bass which was beautifully cooked even though the place was packed.
We're never disappointed when we eat there.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne R, Guest Relations Manager at Ego Mediterranean Restaurant - Liverpool, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Thank you for your lovely words, we are so pleased that you continue to enjoy your Ego Experience and all the team at Ego Liverpool look foward to welcoming you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good food, reasonable prices and attentive service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Chose this because it was next to the Philharmonic Hall. I always worry if the restaurant is right next door to the attraction, as liberties can sometimes be taken with gullible customers. But we found the food excellent, the atmosphere lively, the prices reasonable, and the service particularly attentive. Everyone was having a great time. Recommended.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne R, Guest Relations Manager at Ego Mediterranean Restaurant - Liverpool, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thank you for your kind words, we always love to hear from new customers and we hope that you will come back and see us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
“WOW”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

what can I say other than WOW ego is the most amazing place to eat in liverpool by far not only is the food world class but the staff treat you like your a friend i really do love this place.YES liverpool is my brilliant home city but at times you just want to be somewhere new and away well ego can do just that for you its a little part of the med in the heart of a big city, would i go again hell yeah would i take my children for sure I would. Ego gets 100% off me and i cant wait to go again and enjoy a fun night with my friends. The staff really do take care of you all night from the mo you walk in to even a cheeky tweet to see if you got home safe how fab. Best place in town

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne R, Guest Relations Manager at Ego Mediterranean Restaurant - Liverpool, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your Ego experience and we do hope that you will come back and visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ego Mediterranean Restaurant - Liverpool also viewed

Liverpool, Merseyside
Liverpool, Merseyside
 
Liverpool, Merseyside
Liverpool, Merseyside
 

Been to Ego Mediterranean Restaurant - Liverpool? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ego Mediterranean Restaurant - Liverpool, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.