We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jalons Restaurant

Jalons Restaurant
477 Smithdown Road, Wavertree, Liverpool L15 5AE, England
+44 (0)151 734 3984
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #337 of 1,153 Restaurants in Liverpool
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

The was 14 in are party for a 40th birthday celebration, if I had of took notice on the reviews I think it would of put me off but we had already booked so we went ahead, I can't find a fault to be honest, and I'm not the kind of person not tell you either way,,

We was sat not far from the toilets and the smoking room, I did read that someone complained?? So I was dredging it to be honest, as I'm a none smoker, but I never smelt a thing, and I must say good actually very good idea, as your not walking in through the front door past loads of smoke due to them having a smoking area,,,

We all ordered and food wasn't long at all, and all came out at the same time, and this was the same with the starters and mains, we also had with us someone with a nut allergy so I told the waitress, and she even came back to check on the meal that was ordered and double checked with the chef to make sure,, Thank-you for your excellent service,

I ordered the pate, O M G it was so so nice, and I had the lamb for main also very very nice,,

And having the music while your eating is brill and she was a real good singer,


Thanks to everyone for making the 40th birthday special Friday 17th Jan

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    23
    22
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Family Celebration”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

On the Saturday before Christmas, we gathered in Jalons to celebrate a 30th birthday. Jalons is a surprising restaurant, bigger than you would expect when looking in, bright and with a happy atmosphere. Christmas time, so the restaurant was very busy, but that didn't decrease on the service or infringe on the quality of food. I started with the Burnley Black Pudding followed by the Fillet Steak, which was cooked perfectly and tasted as good as it looked. All in all Jalons is worth a visit, good service, good food and value for money, which is very important these days.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Jalons MMMMM !!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

As one of a large family , I can whole heartedly recommend this restaurant as we have all been coming here since it was opened . We as a family have celebrated everything from birthdays to anniversarys , and also the quiet meal for two , on each and every occasion we have all been more than happy with both the food and the service which has always been great value for money , would defo recommend and will defo be going back .

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool,England
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Visited Jalons for the first time on New Years Eve. We had booked two weeks before.On arrival the restaurant was very busy. We were attended to quickly and shown to our seat which was by the window and in a corner which was not perfect but ok.The service was efficient and pleasant.We both opted for the piri piri king prawns which were very good.However the mains were both overcooked. My husband had lamb and I had the sea bass. The singer kept the evening going and sang a good selection of new and old which was nice. For new years eve it was ok but nothing special. Maybe on an ordinary evening the food might have been cooked better.Worth a visit if only for entertainment whilst dining.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
568 reviews 568 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
326 helpful votes 326 helpful votes
“Excellent value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

I have eaten here twice and feel that Jalons offers excellent value and great service.

On this last occasion, I has some delicious lamb, cooked well and nicely presented.

Service was just as good, as was the resident singer.

Despite being very busy and not having pre booked, I was readily accommodated.

I would give Jalons top marks.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jalons Restaurant also viewed

Liverpool, Merseyside
Liverpool, Merseyside
 
Liverpool, Merseyside
Liverpool, Merseyside
 

Been to Jalons Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jalons Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.