We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and efficient. Worth a try.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Olive Restaurant & Bar

Olive Restaurant & Bar
25-27 Castle Street, Liverpool L2 4TA, England (Central Liverpool)
+44 151 227 2242
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #69 of 1,157 Restaurants in Liverpool
Price range: $14 - $39
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Private Dining
Neighborhood: Central Liverpool
Silsden, West Yorkshire
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Friendly and efficient. Worth a try.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

As occasional visitors to Liverpool we have found the standard of restaurants is pretty high. Yet this one was very busy when we visited on a thursday night, partly because there was a hefty discount on the food and partly because, lets face it, you cant go wrong with an Italian. Not much wrong here either, it's very lively, the service was friendly and efficient and food very good value with that discount. The menu was reasonably varied. We ordered hake which was slightly overcooked and a little dry as a result but otherwise a very tasty dish. We also ordered duck (medium) but it too came well done and a tad tasteless. So, we were a little disappointed with our choices and should probably have chosen more traditional Italian fare. Had we done so, I'm sure we would have been more tempted by the deserts.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    292
    172
    62
    15
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good honest fare for all tastes use the sugarvine offer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

We come here lot six friends with very diverse taste in food and ultra fussy .. We are always satisfied with the food and service.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LIVERPOOL UK
Top Contributor
234 reviews 234 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
“5 star customer service here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Came here last night on their 50% off January deal. The place was buzzing, but we were seated quickly and the service through out the meal was probably the best service I have encountered in a very long time, hence my rating .All of the staff were genuinely helpful and friendly,they made a good meal into an excellent dining experience. The food was good too, and I will definitely be coming back and will be recommending to all my friends.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallasey, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“lovely place !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

very charming and cozy atomsphere
good menu choice
attentive staff
will be returning again with hubby as went with the girls on a hen doo

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Olive formally olive press”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We went for lunch for my daughters birthday and the food and service was good but it was let down by the excessive price of a bottle of house wine which almost doubled the total bill. £20 for a cheap bottle of wine is to much when better restaurants in the area charge a least £5 less or house wine

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Olive Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 
Liverpool, Merseyside
 

Been to Olive Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Olive Restaurant & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.