We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Off the beaten track, but well worth the wander!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Egg Cafe

The Egg Cafe
16-18 Newington, Liverpool L1 4ED, England
+44 151 707 2755
Improve this listing
Ranked #210 of 1,125 Restaurants in Liverpool
Price range: $3 - $9
Cuisines: Vegetarian, Bistro, Healthy, Vegan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Egg Cafe is located in the heart of the Liverpool, just off Bold Street. It occupies the light and airy loft space of an old Victorian warehouse building, affording a panoramic view of the city centre. As well as being Liverpool's premier vegetarian restaurant, The Egg is also an independent art gallery and a popular meeting place. The relaxed and bohemian atmosphere attracts a diverse crowd and is especially popular amongst artists and students
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Off the beaten track, but well worth the wander!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Being a meat lover, i was naturally sceptical at joining my vegan friend for an early dinner here. However on her assurances i followed her down a little side street and up 2 flights of interestingly decorated stairs. What we found at the top was a calm atmosphere with little tables dotted about and a mezzanine level, in front was a little counter with a blackboard of very reasonably priced dishes, all of which you could see for yourself under a heated section.
I went for the set menu, starter,main, dessert and tea or coffee for 9.75.
Amazing value as when my garlic bread with cheese, a whole plateful with 2 types of salad came out, i could only manage half, thinking about somehow squeezing in my brocolli quiche, which was deep, creamy and i loved the wholemeal pastry. My lemon and orange drizzle cake just about finished me off and i waddled home fully satisfied, despite the lack of meat!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    102
    20
    16
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“14 Years and Counting..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I've been going to The Egg since I was 12 years old. It's cleaned itself up substantially since then but hasn't lost any of it's charm. The menu has barely changed the whole time, but why fix something that isn't broken? The food is hearty vegetarian fare, you know what you're getting with the Egg and it fills you up and tastes good. Still the best Cheese on Toast I've had. it's a great place to hang out with friends or just solo, I've spend many hours in here alone just reading with a cup of tea and you're never expected to leave, the atmosphere is welcoming and relaxed. It's not only a cafe, it's a gallery and it's a place to spend time. My only critisism is not of the cafe itself but of the artwork featured. Most of it is really quite terrible. You get the odd diamond in the rough mind you..

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Best value in Liverpool”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

What a find - quite literally, it took me a while! Two brightly painted doors on a side street lead you into two flights of stairs,then you open a door at the top and the space magically opens out into a bright, light sort of loft apartment with a spacious lower area and a smaller balcony. I come here everytime I go shopping in Liverpool as the atmosphere is laid back, the food is totally fresh, always delicious and great value for money. The menu is vegetarian/ vegan, but honestly, I've taken die-hard carnivores to this place and they have all come out surprised, impressed and absolutely stuffed, the portions are so generous. In fact the one time we attempted the set menu, it was totally impossible to eat the amount of food that was put before us. It is open all day and into the evening so candles get lit at dusk and you can bring your own alcohol. Totally recommended by me!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“amazing value for wholesome delicious grub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

I go to the veggie cafe with friends every week. I am a student so it's a cheap place to eat out with food as delightful as expensive restaurants. Also, if you're a vegetarian you don't need to worry about cross-contamination of meat etc. It's hidden at the top of a building so it's nice and quiet and candle-lit at night which makes for a beautiful setting. fantastic variety of good home-made grub, such as bean burgers, quiches, soups and many more. The cakes are made with free-range eggs as a bonus and are delicious. The salad is the best one i've ever seen as it's very rich in variety. The roast is the best around with a massive variety of veges, a nut roast and yummy gravy (see my uploaded pic). Cannot wait to go back there again!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“I Love this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

There's a good selection of vegetarian and vegan food freshly prepared on the premises, prices are good, atmosphere relaxed and there's always interesting art on the walls. One of Liverpool's hidden gems.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Egg Cafe also viewed

Liverpool, Merseyside
Liverpool, Merseyside
 
Liverpool, Merseyside
 

Been to The Egg Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Egg Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.