We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“basic cheap hotel for city centre” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Pineapple Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Pineapple Hotel to your Saves list
The Pineapple Hotel
258 Park Road, Liverpool L8 4UE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 64 Liverpool B&B and Inns
Carnoustie, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“basic cheap hotel for city centre”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

this hotel is just situated off the city centre and is ideal place if your looking for something basic and cheap to stay in the bedrooms are on the 1st&2nd floor both axcessed by stairs there is no lift better bring some rubber soles as there is not a mat for the shower

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    28
    16
    11
    15
See reviews for
12
12
19
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Herselt, Belgium
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Ideal hotel if you are on a budget. Prices can be very high in Liverpool and this was the cheapest room we could find for our trip. We booked the family room, which were four twin beds. Staff was friendly and the room was clean as well. We got served a good English breakfast, but you also could choose for cereals if you wanted. The breakfast was served in the pub on groundlevel of the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maldon, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

Arrived at hotel if u can call it that, at about 12.30 in the afternoon, lady was messing about with tv to even bother serving us, eventually when she could be bothered she did!! We got our room key and was told we were staying in the next street down, we booked the pinapple hotel not a place down the road!! It was no more than a hostal 2 rooms down stairs and a few more up stairs which were discusting, we had to share a bathroom with other guests which was discusting!! My mate and I had been out in town and came back to the hotel for a kip only for me to wake up at around 6am with a burglar in the room, who was trying to take the tv off the wall, we wrestled him to the ground only to find he had stolen both our wallets and both our mobile phones! No security or anything to be seen!!!! We left about an hour later as there was no chance we were getting any sleep after what had happend!! We went and spoke to the land lady and to be honest she didn't seem suprised we had been robbed!! She just said sorry for that! Nothing was done about it!! Avoid this place at all costs!! What a dump of a so called hotel!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dutch1966, Manager at The Pineapple Hotel, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
All a bit confusing here. Nobody is condoning any alleged actions by 3rd parties but who in their right mind refuses to wait for the police??? Somebody with something to hide, perhaps? Also, why do people choose to tell the hold world via websites when something could have been done there and then. Lots of rumours here about doors being left wide open.........There are 2 sides to every story, say no more.

Guests, please speak to us and let us help you at the time. Closing the stable door after the horse has bolted achieves nothing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

We booked this hotel for a girly weekend and night out in Liverpool. When we arrived we were given a key a directed to the top floor. The key didn't work so we had to go ask for another to which the owner seemed a bit put out and sent one of the pub customers to help us, they gave us another key and when we eventually got in the room it was not to our request. We specifically asked for a room with a bathroom which this did not have and there was a shared one on the corridor which was disgusting! At this point we looked online and found somewhere else to stay. We asked the owner about the bathroom situation and she didn't seem bothered we were leaving she said it stated on the website (it didn't). When we phoned to complain later she was very funny with us. Really bad service will never go back!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dutch1966, Manager at The Pineapple Hotel, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
We do not offer rooms for sale with bathrooms when they do not have one. If anything, guests are upgraded to rooms with bathrooms, never downwards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Colwyn, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We booked a room under the impression we had a bathroom in room ....we didnt ...the key wouldn't fit in our room they sent a guy up to help who was ...not sober shall we say .... Awful so much so we walked out and booked another hotel .....not a hotel for ladies nightmare night !

Room Tip: None of them !
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is perfect for a night out. 8 of us stayed in 2 rooms everything fine. At The end of the day it's a pub with rooms. Will 100% use again. 5£ taxi to town. Easy parking good service good pint just need a little bit of Everton memorabilia in the bar and would get 5 on everything

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dutch1966, Manager at The Pineapple Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thank you. Future guests, please read all reviews and take them 'in the round'. Trip Advisor is excellent as it lets you see both sides. Guests love us or hate us, and it is easier to focus on the negative rather than the positive.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Sadly not a very enjoyable stay. Luckily the staff are very pleasant. That's where the good review stops! For value it's just ok! Unpleasant smell in bar, rooms are very cramped, but clean! Little facilities! Didn't chance breakfast! Can't comment on that!
Overall don't plan a visit if ur in Liverpool for romantic w/end!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Pineapple Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pineapple Hotel

Address: 258 Park Road, Liverpool L8 4UE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 64 B&Bs / Inns in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pineapple is a 150 year old, family owned, former coaching inn one mile from the City Centre. It is now a B&B with a popular bar but the name and the locals' bar have both remained. We are just 20 minutes from the John Lennon Airport on the way to the City and only 5 minutes from Lime Street Station and all other popular attractions and nightlife. We are only a short ride from the ferry terminals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Pineapple Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pineapple Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.