We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient & Tidy.....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-John Lennon Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-John Lennon Airport to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-John Lennon Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Speke Hall Avenue, Liverpool L24 1UX, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #47 of 99 Hotels in Liverpool
Whittlesey
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
99 hotel reviews
Reviews in 102 cities Reviews in 102 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Convenient & Tidy.....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Luckily had enough 'points' for a free stay at the H.I. Express.... All fairly newish and easy to find.
Although not flying out of Liverpool, we were catching a ferry the net day from Birkenhead and this was very convenient. Good facilities, very clean and room was OK.
Staff attentive and polite.
Breakfast OK with choice of small selection of cooked food and plenty of other cold or fruits.
Would stay again if going in/around Liverpool

Room Tip: Cheapo Toby Restaurant not far away
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin L, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-John Lennon Airport, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Roy Gerstner,

Reference: Holiday Inn Express Liverpool John Lennon Airport

Thank you very much for your positive feedback regarding your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express Liverpool Airport. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Liverpool.



Martin Lote

Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    156
    80
    34
    14
See reviews for
83
127
32
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gorefield
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights whilst visiting our niece. Rooms simple but more than ok for £50 per night. Clean and with good shower. Availability of on tap tea and coffee is a real bonus as is the complimentary breakfast. It's simple - scrambled eggs, sausages and baked beans, but there is ample toast, muffins, pastries, juices and yoghurt.

The staff were lovely and nothing was too much trouble. Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin L, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-John Lennon Airport, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Kevan E,

Reference Holiday Inn Express Liverpool John Lennon Airport.

Thank you very much for your excellent feedback regarding your recent stay. Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Martin Lote
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uk
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We stayed here for one night June 2012.

The room was clean, bed comfy, the pull out bed for our daughter was comfy. Included in the price we had a buffet breakfast which was lovely.

Would definitely stay again!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin L, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-John Lennon Airport, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear BeckyjUk,

Reference Holiday Inn Express Liverpool John Lennon Airport.

Thank you very much for your positive feedback regarding your recent stay at Holiday Inn Express. Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Martin Lote
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We stayed here not in preparation for a flight, but for an event nearby. Reception was busy when we checked in and the hotel appeared to be very short staffed with the same person serving at the bar whilst also checking people in. We were to stay on the top floor of the hotel, right by the lifts.

In terms of sleep quality, we were often disrupted by other guests either using the lifts or with small children running down the corridors but I suppose this is to be expected from an airport hotel. The weather was quite windy however and this was a big problem as it was obviously rattling something right outside our room!

Breakfast the next day was an interesting experience. Once again, there were no staff to be seen. Cooked breakfast was self service scrambled egg, bacon, sausage and beans. There were no beans, no bacon and the sausages were horrible! I also had to eat it out of a bowl with a spoon, seen as there were no forks or plates left.

All in all, not a great experience in certain aspects but the room was clean, spacious and the beds comfortable. I suspect that if the hotel sorts out its staffing issues then it may do a lot better off in its overall ratings.

Room Tip: Good airport views if you get rooms on that side and like to watch planes!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin L, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-John Lennon Airport, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Swiss_r,

Reference Holiday Inn Express Liverpool John Lennon Airport.

Thank you very much for your feedback regarding your recent stay.I apologise for the issues that you faced with breakfast, I hope these matters will not dissuade you from staying with us in the near future.

Martin Lote
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

Company booked me room as other hotel full. It was poor and cheap end scale, three items on menu we eat out but its miles from anywhere and staff were unhelpful in suggesting anywhere, if you just want a bed then its ok

Would not stay again

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin L, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-John Lennon Airport, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear EAN44,

Reference Holiday Inn Express Liverpool John Lennon Airport.

Thank you very much for your feedback regarding your recent stay. Look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Martin Lote
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W. Yorkshire, UK
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

On a visit to Liverpool University Open Day with husband and teenage son, we booked this hotel for an overnight stay at the very good price of £54 for 3 of us in a family room, with complimentary breakfast included.

The man on reception was friendly and pleasant when we arrived, although we were a little worried that they took a swipe of our credit card as a breakages guarantee. The first floor room was a little small with the sofa bed out, but it was a decent sized double one which our son said was much better then the equivalent in a certain other budget hotel chain! Our double was a little on the hard side, but pretty comfortable.

We had TV, free tea/coffee and also shower gel/shampoo and hand wash were provided in the bathroom. As someone else has said, the bathroom (well shower room, no bath!) was slightly strange as the door could be closed to make a tiny toilet cubicle, so someone could be on the loo in private while someone else cleaned their teeth! Not a bad idea actually. It was all spotlessly clean, and there was plenty of shelf and hanging space. Although it was close to the airport and a main road, it wasn't too noisy and the room temperature was fine.

Bar snacks were available but we didn't have them so I can't comment on those. We walked round the corner with our friends who were also staying there, and had a decent meal at the Toby Carvery for a good price, with friendly staff.

Breakfast was served from 4am to 10am so should be good for people with early flights. It was your standard self service type but there was plenty of choice and although I didn't have the cooked breakfast (which looked a little dry as you might expect) the canned grapefruit, croissant, yogurt and bread rolls were fine.
Altogether we were impressed with this budget hotel: if our son ends up as a Liverpool student we may well go back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin L, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-John Lennon Airport, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Yorkslady,

Reference Holiday Inn Express Liverpool John Lennon Airport.

Thank you very much for your feedback regarding your recent stay. Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Martin Lote
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We stayed here in April 2013. We had a very early flight the following morning and arrived late evening. Quick check in and we found our room easily. We had booked a family room as part of a stay and park package and were pleased with the overall size of the room. The rooms are spacious, clean and modern.The only downside is that the kids had a pull out sofa bed which was not the most comfortable but ok for one nights stay. We had to leave the hotel at 4.30 but a help yourself continental breakfast was served from 4am which was an added bonus. It was a mile drive to the airport car park which is directly in front of the terminal building. We paid less than 70 GB pound for the night and 15 days car parking which was excellent value and would recommend and use again in the future.

Room Tip: Make sure you book the official car park at Liverpool airport and dont bother with the hotel car par...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin L, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-John Lennon Airport, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Dear Pieman790,

Reference: Holiday Inn Express Liverpool John Lennon Airport

Thank you very much for your positive feedback regarding you recent stay. I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Martin Lote
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-John Lennon Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-John Lennon Airport

Address: 1 Speke Hall Avenue, Liverpool L24 1UX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-John Lennon Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Express by Holiday Inn Liverpool John Lennon Airport is ideally located for both Liverpool Airport and as a base for exploring the fabulous City of Liverpool, which is celebrating as European Captial of Culture 2008. Whether your stay is for business or pleasure, our modern hotel offers both comfort and value for money so you can relax, recharge and face the day with a smile. We offer complimentary secure parking at the hotel for any guests staying overnight or attending a conference in one of our 3 purpose built meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-John Lennon Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-John Lennon Airport Hotel Liverpool
Holiday Inn Liverpool

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-John Lennon Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.