We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location for a 1 night stop over” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-John Lennon Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-John Lennon Airport to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-John Lennon Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Speke Hall Avenue, Liverpool L24 1UX, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #47 of 99 Hotels in Liverpool
La Manga Spain
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Great Location for a 1 night stop over”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

We arrived late into Liverpool airport so this hotel is in great location as only a few minutes away from the airport. The bar is always open so a couple of drinks before bed is great too. And in the morning you wake fresh to set of on your onward journey nice and fresh, specially after the buffet breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    155
    80
    34
    14
See reviews for
83
126
32
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Chose this hotel as it was close to family. Arrived late in the evening after a horrible Train journey. Vicky abnd Louise both very welcoming and friendly on reception. Good sized clean room on the first floor (Wifi reaches there) Bfast starts af 4am ! breaskfast is buffet style and consists of usual cereals and continental as well as Hot scrambled eggs, sausages, beans & toast. All in all a good hotel, nothing special, apart from the service. It was a very bsuy weekend yet the staff were still able to smile and talk to you rather than the usual impersonal service. Thank you Vicky and Louise.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We stayed at this hotel before flying from the airport.
We arrived at 10pm and didn't get into our room until 10:30 because we were stood waiting for the receptionist. The bar woman had seen us but didn't use her initiative to inform the receptionist.
The room was nice and clean, however, we both didn't sleep a wink, the bed and pillows were very uncomfortable.
The continental breakfast was dissapointing, the croissants weren't nice and the orange juice tasted sour, we decided not to try anything else.
We checked out and was waved Goodbye by the receptionist, however, he didn't tell us that we needed a code for the carpark barrier and just let us walk out of the hotel. We had to go back inside for the code.

All in all I was very dissapointed. I have stayed in the Holiday Inn Express at Lincoln and it was fantastic, this was a real let down!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

I was spending a weekend in Liverpool for a few nights out with a friend and this was the closest best value hotel available around a month before I booked it. I stayed at this hotel on 17th to 18th of November and really enjoyed my stay. We was initially given a double room having booked a twin room through a different companies website but the staff were very helpful and changed us to a room with a double bed and double sofa bed which ment we both had a much better sleep. Both Louise and Vicki were both working on reception the 1st evening and were very friendly and talkative which made our stay even more enjoyable. Louise was also on the the next morning and was very helpful with giving us information on taxis and recommending places to visit in Liverpool as we hadn't been to the city centre before. Overall it was an excellent place to stay and with the attractive friendly receptionists I would definitely recommend a stay here. A taxi is around £12 to the city centre which is a good price if split between a few people. I would certainly stay here again when visiting Liverpool.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland, UK
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Holiday Inn Express seem to be my hotel chain of choice these days. Reasonably priced & free breakfast.

I used my points to pay for hotel (which I managed to collect pretty quickly) but would have been happy to pay the advanced rate for the hotel. About 15 / 20 min drive from Liverpool city centre. Free parking at hotelk whilst you are staying there.

Hotel staff on check in very friendly advised us that hotel was full & that last hour of breakfast might be busy but we were late down in the morning within the last hour and we didnt need to wait for table so was good.

Rooms typical Holiday inn express spotlessly clean & comfortable room of ok size even with the sofa bed made up.

Would definately stay here again usually stay in Knowsely area but would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Room was big and clean, bathroom was clean with a door to seperate the loo. The breakfast was good, you get an all you can eat, scrambled egg, sausage and beans. Toast, muffins,croissants, biscuits, fruit, cerals, rolls tean and coffee and juice. The staff were friendly, I was asked to pay a deposit of £30 on my card incase i charged anything to the room. I wasnt planning on charging anything to the room so asked when i would get the money back. This takes about 2 weeks, i said i wasnt happy and it was wavered. I would stay there again..

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We stayed overnight on the 5th Nov 2112 because of a seven Oclock flight on the 6th,
The Hotel is Comfortable. Our room had a good sized Bathroom and Comfortable Bed. We got an early break fast and were away for 4 45 in the morning. Reception Staff were Helpful and Friendly. We would certainly use the Hotel again, before flying from John Lennon Airport.
The cost of the room for the night included a weeks Car parking at the Airport. I don't think you'd get better value.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-John Lennon Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-John Lennon Airport

Address: 1 Speke Hall Avenue, Liverpool L24 1UX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-John Lennon Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Express by Holiday Inn Liverpool John Lennon Airport is ideally located for both Liverpool Airport and as a base for exploring the fabulous City of Liverpool, which is celebrating as European Captial of Culture 2008. Whether your stay is for business or pleasure, our modern hotel offers both comfort and value for money so you can relax, recharge and face the day with a smile. We offer complimentary secure parking at the hotel for any guests staying overnight or attending a conference in one of our 3 purpose built meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-John Lennon Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-John Lennon Airport Hotel Liverpool
Holiday Inn Liverpool

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-John Lennon Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.