We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trip down memory lane and a lovely Scouse welcome...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 62 Castle Street

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added 62 Castle Street to your Saves list
62 Castle Street
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   62 Castle Street, Liverpool L2 7LQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 99 Hotels in Liverpool
Bangor, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Trip down memory lane and a lovely Scouse welcome...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

My only quibble with this hotel is that they have to resort to the notoriously expensive Q park for the guests. There was a voucher available which knocked a few pounds off the car park ticket. This was available on check-out, though at that time their computers were down, so it wasn't offered and I forgot to ask.

However, I have since written to the hotel and offered to leave the few pounds (the value of the voucher) as a tip for Ken, the concierge, who was most helpful and with whom we soon became acquainted on first name terms. No trouble was spared by any of the reception staff on our behalf. We stayed on two separate nights. On the second occasion, the receptionist was only too happy to provide a few post codes for our car's satellite navigation. She also volunteered suggestions about some of the places we planned to see. Ken also was very happy to come up to get our TV "fixed" - even though there was nothing amiss with it, as I had failed to see the button on the side of the set.

I was interested to hear his angle on the Liverpool of today, after having spent 4 years there as a student at Liverpool University some four decades ago. The staff had TIME and took TROUBLE over their guests. I found this a refreshing change from the normally more aloof and formal approach taken by hotel staff in the south of England.

Food was of fine quality; I had a superb Eggs Benedict just before leaving for the Belfast ferry. Nonetheless, I got the feeling that the restaurant staff were very young and perhaps under-trained. Common sense would dictate that used dishes should be lifted away before the next breakfast course arrives. However, we had to put these on one of the adjoining tables to help the waitress out. I also got the feeling that staff were doubling up in some of their jobs, e.g. reception and cleaning. There seemed to be very few guests around on both occasions when we had the overnight stay. Both were midweek however, so this may account for it to some extent. The waitress informed us that the hotel is a grade 3 listed building, having been a bank in its former incarnation. It is a lovely hotel and very convenient to the many activities available at the Pier Head and Albert Dock. What a pity if it were not to thrive - especially with such dedicated staff.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    263
    176
    78
    27
    23
See reviews for
28
375
24
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

62 Castle is a pleasant surprise. It is in a very grand building right in the middle of Liverpool. Our room was huge with a very high ceiling and air conditioning. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the location is perfect. The only quibble we had was that the restaurant and bar weren't open when we were there but that only encouraged us to head off into town and find somewhere else, of which there are plenty in Liverpool!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

I recently stayed at this hotel and will definitely be returning. Huge room (master suite - I would recommend paying the extra for this!), beautiful original features and all mod cons. A tasteful mix of old and new. The location is fantastic and the hotel was surprisingly peaceful despite it's central location.

I was very impressed by the attention provided by Linda in reservations who arranged an ice bucket and champagne flutes in time for our arrival. I also requested a nicer room as it was a special occasion and the room did not disappoint. All in all, a fab time and will book again very soon!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

In an excellent location close to the Met quarter and Matthew Street which hosts the famous Cavern Club. Hotel room was huge with massive comfy bed. The rooms themselves, although more than adequate were very dark and tired. In need of a little tlc. Having said that would still recommend. Booked via an offer on "Secret Escapes" website which made it good value.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Stayed at this hotel a lot for the last couple of years and it had alot of charm although its a standard ruff around the edges hotel it made up for it by its friendly, helpfull, charismatic staff. I stayed very recently and it seems to have been taken over dismal atmosphere and sad and over worked looking staff, such a shame, I won't be returning

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed the comforts of 62 Castle Street, the spacious room, comfortable bed and the staff, especially Liz, was extremely helpful! Enjoying the proximity to all sites and the train station. Suggestions for places to visit, assistance printing e-tickets, making restaurant reservations, etc are just a sampling of the helpful nature of the staff!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

awful hotel. Stayed here one night for a special occasion and it was a real let down. Waaaaay overpriced too. No robes, no air con, no staff, no room service.....it was just very poor. I had to go down to the bar for drinks and it too was understaffed and way overpriced. One saving grace is the location is good but liverpool is a small city so every hotel has good location.

Room Tip: top tip - choose one of the many better hotels in liverpool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 62 Castle Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 62 Castle Street

Address: 62 Castle Street, Liverpool L2 7LQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#35 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — 62 Castle Street 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The beautiful boutique hotel, 62 Castle St. boasts one of the most enviable locations in Liverpool City Centre. Perfectly located to take in the sights, sounds and of course, shopping, the city has to offer.Whether your visit is business, leisure or pleasure, the exquisite ‘Old Bank’ building, with it’s intricate façade and grand interior, 62 Castle St., is first choice when it comes to luxury.The hotel encompasses 20 boutique suites, including the Grand Suite, for the most indulgent; our adjoining decadent gourmet restaurant and cocktail bar is the ideal place to dine, drink and we’ll ensure you dream with our plush SuperKing beds. With the most popular places of interest within walking distance, for those seeking culture and history, the Albert Docks, The Liverpool museum and of course the infamous Cavern Club are literally on your doorstep. With Liverpool One beckoning you into its vast selection of high street stores, 62 Castle St. is the number one choice when it comes to a boutique hotel in a prime central location. No stone is left unturned when it comes to each individual suite in 62 Castle Street. Equipped with the latest in: climate controls, luxury linens &toiletries, flatscreen TV, direct dial phones, high-speed Internet access, wake up services, separate lounge/sleeping areas, onsite parking, business services with meeting rooms, concierge desk, and 24-hour reception- there is little you are left wanting with – so treat yourself, try the room service and relax in ultimate indulgence at 62 Castle St. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your 62 Castle Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
62 Castle Street Hotel Liverpool
62 Castle St Liverpool
62 Castle St Hotel Liverpool

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 62 Castle Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.