We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 62 Castle Street

Save Saved
You added 62 Castle Street to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
62 Castle Street
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   62 Castle Street, Liverpool L2 7LQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 100 hotels in Liverpool
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

We only had a one night stay, wished it was longer. Central position close to L1 shops, restaurants and James Street train station. Lovely good sized room with a huge, very comfortable bed, quality bedding and furnishings, we had everything we needed and the staff were efficient and helpful.
Would definetly stay again, excellent value for money.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle62, General Manager at 62 Castle Street, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
We wished you'd stayed longer too!

I am thrilled to hear you were impressed with our standards, service & of course, our beautiful rooms & enviable location.

Our value for money is always competitive - keep an eye out for our up & coming offers this year!

Best wishes,

Emma Wright
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

501 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    236
    158
    63
    25
    19
See reviews for
25
338
21
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Excellent location near shops and restaurants (and The Cavern). However our room (204) overlooked Derby Square which is very noisy from very early and the room was draughty. On arrival the room was very cold as a large mirror had been placed to toally block the only radiator in the room ! The desk phone did not work and the TV had no reception. When we reported these things, a fan heater was brought, we were told to use the bedside phone and the TV was restored.The bathroom was awful - the light over the mirror to shave was set so that one side of my face was in darkness, there was mould in the cheap plastic shower tray, the toilet seat did not fit - it was cheap plastic, the shower was cramped and with a poor flow of water,amenities were not renewed, the tissue box was empty and the towels were thin. There were no dressing gowns. In common with the rest of the hotel, our room and bathroom had been modernised on the cheap. There was peeling paint much in evidence and many lights had been replaced with inappropriate bulbs.Breakfast was good.

Room Tip: Do not choose room 204. Ask for a quiet room (if there is one!) and check the standard of housekeepi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

My wife and I had our Christmas treat at 62 Castle Street this weekend. We have been here a few times before and I have to say that this time, I did some research, came prepared and we had a fantastic night.

After speaking to reception a few weeks ago, we asked for the insider view of which was the best room available and 306 was suggested. This room is on the corner of the building and has a split level with the bed on one level and a seating area below.

The room was wonderfully warm on arrival on a cold day in Liverpool and the bed was to die for from a comfort perspective.

This was the perfect room and I would advise getting some advice from the hotel prior to arriving to make sure you get a good room as we have been given rooms that were not suitable in the past.

I only have 2 gripes though. The first is that you do get street noise early in the morning as bottles are emptied from the bar and secondly, the bar itself just inst very good and we struggled to get 2 glasses of Baileys!!! The music in the bar early on was also too loud and I am not a fan of loud music in scarcely occupied areas!!!

The hotel itself though, 10/10, well done 62 Castle Street and see you again very soon!!

Room Tip: We had room 306 which was lovely but book your hotel and then speak to them to reserve a room of you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

62 Castle Street has been reinstated as my favourite play to stay in Liverpool. We had a lovely master suite room and the bed was sooooo comfy.
The whole hotel was toasty warm as well, on a very chilly winter weekend.
Will stay here again .... and again...and again!
My only slight bug bear, is that there was this time and last time mould on the bathroom sealant, which is both totally preventable and curable using bleach. Housekeeping should be more particular about this as it is not nice to see.

Room Tip: Front/ Castle Street facing rooms have large windows and are brighter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle62, General Manager at 62 Castle Street, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
I am thrilled you had such a fabulous time with us - we agree- our beds are the comfiest in Liverpool!

Thanks for bringing the maintenance issue to my attention - it is currently being looked into by the correct department.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon on your next visit to Liverpool. Have a Merry Christmas.

Best wishes,

Emma Wright
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

me and my boyfriend stayed at castle street as a weekends break before christmas to get away and do some shopping. the staff are fantastic and cant do enough for you, our room was gorgeous and the separate dining/living area really made it special. the location is fantastic with cafes, bars and resteraunts dotted around immediatley outside plus a very convieniant sainsburys local next door but one. its then a 2 minute walk to liverpool one and the met quarter - another short walk brings you to the docks too.
we left our luggage in the care of the hotel after checking out on sunday morning while we enjoyed more time in the city, we returned late afternoon and the helpful staff called us a taxi which arrived within seconds while we collected our luggage. perfect end to a perfect weekend!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle62, General Manager at 62 Castle Street, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
It's a pleasure to hear such positive feed back! Many thanks, all of our staff continue to provide fantastic service for each and every one of our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon & we hope you'll take the opportunity to dine with us in 62 Castle St.'s restaurant.

Merry Christmas,

Emma Wright

GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here as a mid week treat. Fantastic location - we took a trip to Anfield stadium which was only about 10 minutes away and went shopping around the corner at Liverpool One. The room and hotel itself looked lovely.Very spacious room with great facilities.

Our problem occured when we went down for our evening meal. It is understandable that there is bound to be lack of atmosphere when we are the only couple dining, but we expected to be served to a much higher standard when paying quite a high price. We were taken to our seats then ignored until we asked for something to drink (staff were chatting around the bar). Food was ok- overpriced and nothing special at all. Nobody spoke to us throughout our 3 course meal, not even to offer us more drinks which we finished quickly. On the whole, felt like a bit of a inconvinience to the staff who just looked bored! A pretty misreable dining experience overall!

Room Tip: Try and go at busier times for more atmosphere in the evening
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle62, General Manager at 62 Castle Street, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you for your constructive review.

We have to agree, we have an enviable location - perfect to take in the sights and sounds of our wonderful city!

Thank you for bringing the lack of service to our attention, we pride our selves on a 5* service and it saddens me to hear you had such a poor experience. I would like to encourage you to dine with us again on your next service and rest assured your comments have been fed back to the team, who will endeavour to impress each and every guest with their exceptional, usual service.

King regards,

Emma Wright

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I spent two nights in 62 Castle Street. The staff are fantastic. They let me check in early as I had a lunchtime meeting. I had breakfast in bed both mornings and you simply ring reception and ten minutes later your breakfast arrived. The tray charge was only £3.50!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle62, General Manager at 62 Castle Street, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Wow! We're jealous of your stay! We are thrilled to hear you had such a fabulous time & my staff and I continue to offer up our exceptional & speedy service for you to enjoy!

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best wishes,

Emma Wright

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 62 Castle Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 62 Castle Street

Address: 62 Castle Street, Liverpool L2 7LQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#28 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — 62 Castle Street 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The beautiful boutique hotel, 62 Castle St. boasts one of the most enviable locations in Liverpool City Centre. Perfectly located to take in the sights, sounds and of course, shopping, the city has to offer.Whether your visit is business, leisure or pleasure, the exquisite ‘Old Bank’ building, with it’s intricate façade and grand interior, 62 Castle St., is first choice when it comes to luxury.The hotel encompasses 20 boutique suites, including the Grand Suite, for the most indulgent; our adjoining decadent gourmet restaurant and cocktail bar is the ideal place to dine, drink and we’ll ensure you dream with our plush SuperKing beds. With the most popular places of interest within walking distance, for those seeking culture and history, the Albert Docks, The Liverpool museum and of course the infamous Cavern Club are literally on your doorstep. With Liverpool One beckoning you into its vast selection of high street stores, 62 Castle St. is the number one choice when it comes to a boutique hotel in a prime central location. No stone is left unturned when it comes to each individual suite in 62 Castle Street. Equipped with the latest in: climate controls, luxury linens &toiletries, flatscreen TV, direct dial phones, high-speed Internet access, wake up services, separate lounge/sleeping areas, onsite parking, business services with meeting rooms, concierge desk, and 24-hour reception- there is little you are left wanting with – so treat yourself, try the room service and relax in ultimate indulgence at 62 Castle St. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your 62 Castle Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
62 Castle Street Hotel Liverpool
62 Castle St Liverpool
62 Castle St Hotel Liverpool

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 62 Castle Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.