We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little bit of luxury with a retro past” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 62 Castle Street

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added 62 Castle Street to your Saves list
62 Castle Street
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   62 Castle Street, Liverpool L2 7LQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 99 Hotels in Liverpool
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A little bit of luxury with a retro past”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

My Sister and I stumbled across Merchants Bar in 62 Castle Street whilst trying to escape from the hustle and bustle of a busy shopping day in Liverpool. I'd seen lots of advertisement on Facebook about their afternoon tea and just had to try it. My sister remembered the hotel as "Trials", a hive of activity in the 80's - where people queued round the block to get into and was eager to go inside to see what I was like.

Upon entry to the very grand dning room we were greeted by a very friendly and personable gentleman called Joe and his appearance gave us the immediate impression that we were somewhere special and we werent disappointed. The restaurant was a very very grande room with a massive domed ceiling with lots of period features yet decorated with a very modern twist of blacks and greys and the music was very pleasing to the ear. We were offered our choice of table and once seated were immediately offered 2 glasses of prosecco that were served to us on a tray in sparkling glasses. The afternoon tea was lovely. The sandwiches were on perfectly fresh bread and the selection was much more appetising that some previous afternoon tea's we've sampled and the cakes were mouthwatering - however the roulade did look a bit like a tuna mayo wrap. Thankfully it tasted absolutely delicious and the appearance was soon forgotten. We found the staff were very attentive but not too "in your face" and whenever called they were very quick to carry out our request and even asked for our feedback as they're doing their upmost to ensure they are offering a service second to none. By the time we were in the throws of our visit (which was that good that we stayed for almost 3 hours), the restauarant was buzzing with tables of "ladies who lunch", business people, families and couples and the atmosphere was filled with laughter. I managed to take a sneaky peak at some of the meals that were being presented to the other diners and they looked absolutely delicious - substantial and well presented and the proof of the pudding is in the eating and there were a lot of empty plates being collected from the tables!

I would highly recommend The Merchants Bar at 62 Castle Street and can't wait to go back and sample their cocktails!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle62, General Manager at 62 Castle Street, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Ladies, many thanks for such a fabulous review! We are overwhelmed you had the experience we endeavour to offer all our guests.

We have to agree, we do love to indulge in our afternoon teas – they are one of our favourite times of day at 62 Castle St.

We have passed on your kind comments to Jay, who is a relatively new member of staff but is fitting our bill perfectly and who has embraced our ethos of endeavouring to offer our guests the perfect dining and drinking experience.

We cannot wait to welcome you back for cocktails – may I suggest the lemon & vanilla martini, I promise you’ll never want to leave!

Kind regards,

Emma Wright

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    250
    172
    73
    26
    20
See reviews for
28
361
24
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Just back from a two night stay booked through Secret Escapes. On arrival we managed to park up directly outside the hotel to unload our luggage etc. We parked our car in the Qpark which is just a 5 minute walk away, very easy to find and the hotel gave us a discount voucher which made it only £9 per 24 hours parking. Our room was very impressive, exactly as shown on the website, a lounge/dining area a couple of steps down from the large comfortable bed. As other clients have mentioned the lighting is fine whilst you are relaxing but insufficient if you are trying to apply make up or doing your hair. We were on the 3rd floor and didn't hear any noise from the street below. The hotel is perfectly situated to access all Liverpool's attractions, many restaurants and bars just a few minutes walk away, also the main shopping centre. We had breakfast both mornings which was very good, not too much choice for the continental breakfast but the Full English was very good. We decided to have a drink in Merchants Bar on our second night, cocktails are available for £5 during certain hours, they were very well made and presented in lovely glasses. Unfortunately we were the only ones in the bar so there was no atmosphere, also the candles which were on the bar and all the tables were not lit so it looked very dark and cold, not welcoming from the outside, what a shame. Presumably it gets much busier at weekends. All in all we enjoyed our stay and would recommend this hotel to our friends for the right price. Staff were very helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms were very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle62, General Manager at 62 Castle Street, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful feedback. We are overjoyed you loved your boutique room as much as we do – and in the case of makeup and hair (which we deem very important) we always have a spare lamp should you need it!

Our enviable location is one of our greatest feats and we’re thrilled you found the sights and sounds of Liverpool easy and accessible!

Thank you for your comments regarding our continental selection – we do look to offer a full range for our guests – any suggestions are always taken on board and we’re glad you enjoyed your Full English – the perfect way to start the day!

We love our cocktail menu and we glad you found it great value too – we do encourage a fabulous atmosphere and candles are a must!

I hope to welcome you back to 62 Castle St. again soon, perhaps sample of beautiful prix fixe menu boasting a selection of intelligent dishes from locally sourced produce.

Kind regards,

Emma Wright

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Friendly place, felt really welcomed.
Our room was massive - high ceilings, separate lounge area - a little tired/dated perhaps but this didn't distract from the overall experience.
Great location - close to shopping, docks, etc.
Would recommend staying here.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle62, General Manager at 62 Castle Street, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Thank you for your warm words regarding your stay with us at 62 Castle St.

We love our Grade II listed building and we have to agree, the high ceilings, intricate décor and overall elegance is a talking point for all of our guests.

We do hope to welcome you back soon and we’d love for you to try our beautiful selection of food in Merchants bar & restaurant.

Best wishes,

Emma Wright

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tetbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

My wife and I together with two friends stayed at 62 for 3 nights on a city break. The hotel is comfortable friendly spacious and most of all convenient because it's right in the centre of the city.
It's a lovely building that started life as a Midland Bank and has been beautifully converted to what it is today. Vast split level en-suite bedrooms with high ceilings and a large bathroom. A bonus was that with a 'blue badge' we had 24 hr a day free parking right outside the door. All the places of interest are within easy walking distance as are and endless choice of restaurants of every nationality. Chinatown was wonderful. We booked the hotel through Secret Escapes and the offer price was very reasonable. It also included an excellent breakfast. We had a lot of fun. Try it you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: 201 and 202 were excellent and very very warm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle62, General Manager at 62 Castle Street, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Thank you for such a fabulous review- we are thrilled you and your friends had such a fantastic experience and you enjoyed our pride & joys – our hotel and city!

We have to agree, a god, hearty Full English at 62 Castle St. is the perfect way to start a day of sights and sounds around Liverpool.

We do hope you’ll join us again soon, perhaps dine with us in our beautiful restaurant and sample our fresh and locally sourced food.
Kind regards,

Emma Wright

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012 via mobile

Just back from another wonderful stay at castle Street, again we cannot fault the quality of the hotel for the price we paid! We ate in merchants and thoroughly recommend their fish and chips platter. We came with a couple of friends this time and they were very impressed with the location of the hotel and with Liverpool in general. Thank you 62 Castle Street! We shall return!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Stayed here as was in Liverpool for the night and couldn't get anywhere else to stay, only realised later that this was due to it being the weekend of the Liverpool Marathon !
Anyway, received a really good price for this hotel from lastminute.com but the room was still £150 a night without breakfast, so expected quite a bit from it if I am honest.
Upon arrival to the hotel you can park up outside really quickly and drop your bags in, you are then instructed to park on Liverpool One Q Park as you receive a discount there. Little did we know that the car park would be closed all day on the Sunday due to the marathon so we parked the car there, but then realised we wasn't able to get it out or move it at all, all day Sunday which was no good ! So had to go back and move the car to a spot right outside the hotel, costing a small fortune in change, only then to be told that that road would be closed so we had to park somewhere else !! Moved the car a total of three times before we managed to find a proper space where was able to keep and move our car.
Finally arrived at check in, and on first impressions the hotel is very boutique-esque with a large sweeping staircase and log fire - which unfortunately has not been restored to it's original use.
No-one was around upon check in so had to wait, and a queue began to form. When someone finally arrived check in was quick and painless, and we was instructed to go to the second floor.
Once upstairs it's quite dark and the corridors are up down back to front so it's quite difficult to find your room.
Our room was facing out on to the street and the law courts, it was an impressive room with a large bed, down some small stairs to a small living area then a bathroom off to the side. Unfortunately the hotel is not double glazed, and the windows / balcony doors do not close due to their age and lack of repair. Meaning that all of the night noise filtered in to the room.
Having read previous reviews, I didn't find the room too dark, but can understand where this would come from.
The bathroom was an ok size, with walk in shower. There was a few fixtures and fittings missing which was a let down both for the price and status of this hotel.
The wash hand basin had a tap which fell about an inch to the base of the sink making it hard to rinse under, and if you did get down to plug hole level there was a terrible smell coming from it.
The bed was comfortable, and we had a decent nights sleep considering the noise etc.
I don't think I would stay here again, unless I paid a lot less for the room. I also would not recommend to friends unless they also received a very cheap rate, as it is definitely not worth £150 a night and not as boutique as I expected it to be.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle62, General Manager at 62 Castle Street, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Many thanks for your constructive review. We apologise that the marathon hampered your stay, but as you can imagine- a hazard of the business! Due to our location we cannot offer onsite parking so we have endeavoured to have a great working relationship with QPark so we can offer our guests the very best when it comes to convenience and travel – however, the majority of the roads were closed due to the marathon, especially in the city centre and I do hope you will return on your next visit, we offer competitive rates throughout the week – keep an eye out for our offers on late rooms & Mr & Mrs Smith!

Regarding maintenance – as we are a listed building so we’re afraid double glazing is a no go! We do try to ensure our guests have a soundless sleep where we can and all issues you have raised are being handled by our maintenance team.

We’d love to welcome you back soon, perhaps to sample our delicious Sparkling Afternoon Tea!

Kind regards,

Emma Wright

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

...with happy friendly staff ready to help and give advice about the local area. Good sized rooms, clean and quiet. We would stay here again on our next visit to Liverpool. The hotel is just a short walk from the harbour area and ferry port. We enjoyed a harty cooked breakfast, which is served until 11 am. From our experience I would certainly reccommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle62, General Manager at 62 Castle Street, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Thank you for such a positive review! We are thrilled you had a wonderful stay and we have to agree, our breakfasts are hearty and the perfect way to start a day of sight-seeing in Liverpool.
We look forward to inviting you back on your next visit, perhaps sample our Prix Fixe menu for lunch!

Best wishes,

Emma Wright

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 62 Castle Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 62 Castle Street

Address: 62 Castle Street, Liverpool L2 7LQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#29 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — 62 Castle Street 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The beautiful boutique hotel, 62 Castle St. boasts one of the most enviable locations in Liverpool City Centre. Perfectly located to take in the sights, sounds and of course, shopping, the city has to offer.Whether your visit is business, leisure or pleasure, the exquisite ‘Old Bank’ building, with it’s intricate façade and grand interior, 62 Castle St., is first choice when it comes to luxury.The hotel encompasses 20 boutique suites, including the Grand Suite, for the most indulgent; our adjoining decadent gourmet restaurant and cocktail bar is the ideal place to dine, drink and we’ll ensure you dream with our plush SuperKing beds. With the most popular places of interest within walking distance, for those seeking culture and history, the Albert Docks, The Liverpool museum and of course the infamous Cavern Club are literally on your doorstep. With Liverpool One beckoning you into its vast selection of high street stores, 62 Castle St. is the number one choice when it comes to a boutique hotel in a prime central location. No stone is left unturned when it comes to each individual suite in 62 Castle Street. Equipped with the latest in: climate controls, luxury linens &toiletries, flatscreen TV, direct dial phones, high-speed Internet access, wake up services, separate lounge/sleeping areas, onsite parking, business services with meeting rooms, concierge desk, and 24-hour reception- there is little you are left wanting with – so treat yourself, try the room service and relax in ultimate indulgence at 62 Castle St. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your 62 Castle Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
62 Castle Street Hotel Liverpool
62 Castle St Liverpool
62 Castle St Hotel Liverpool

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 62 Castle Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.