We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Credit to the staff and too Liverpool” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Malmaison Liverpool

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Malmaison Liverpool to your Saves list
Malmaison Liverpool
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   William Jessop Way | Princes Dock, Liverpool L3 1QZ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 99 Hotels in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Liverpool / London
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A Credit to the staff and too Liverpool”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2011

I was home with the wife for my Aunties Birthday on the Saturday, i decided to come to Liverpool on the Friday and make a weekend of it.

We arrived on Friday afternoon and we were given the car park pass (its 15 a day to park but it still works out cheaper than off street parking) the car park is very secure with access and exit only possible with your swipe ticket and don’t forget most people don’t drive, but just be aware that you have to pay.

The hotel is right on the waterfront with views of the Liver building and sea front and the car park exit is 10 feet from the front of the hotel.

As you enter the hotel you are met with a lovely open fire with a 30ft chimney to the roof, with lovely settees and tables we were met by the receptionist who booked us in in 2 minutes

The room was very spacious and we were on the 6th floor, the bed was very big and the room came with a very large bath, separate shower, air con, plenty of storage for clothes, mini bar, and various things you can purchase in the room (bottle of wine, crisps, nuts, chocolates)

We booked a meal before arriving so as we didn’t have to wait and the service was probably the best I’ve had...i have travelled for years but only been using trip advisor for a short while, but this service was excellent..

We had a glass of champagne, compliments of the house as it was a little busy, but the food was 10/10, the staff in the restaurant were very polite and chatty and made you feel very comfortable

We then went back to the lounge area for drinks and you can either pay or put it on your bill..

Now the Breakfast was fantastic. I tip my hat to the chef in the morning because it was so big i didn’t eat till the evening


a great hotel, with great staff and i would definitely stay again

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,557 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    768
    473
    198
    83
    35
See reviews for
101
817
36
258
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (320)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
liverpool
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2011

Second stay in this hotel but wasn't good as the first stay even though we had upgraded. Still a top class hotel though. Rooms are really clean and spacious but woken up at 2.15am by people with no care in the world shouting coming out of the lift going to their rooms. If this was you on floor six I would personally like to thank you for the worst night sleep ever. Came here for a rest from my year old son but this did not happen as he doesn't even wake me up that early.

Breakfast was a disgrace. £14.50 for a 'full english' no beans or tomatoes for moisture included in this which is a shame. Came out luke warm so was quite cold once I had came to the last bite. Service was good and friendly and poached egg perfect but price discusting for what you get and how cold it was. Alto of people are mentioning the same problem so maybe the manager should think of changing this poss to a buffet style like in the marriott as this went down really well.

I would reccomend this hotel to anyone just don't have breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2011

Great hotel, perfect location - 10 mins walk into city. The staff at this hotel are some of the most friendly and helpful I have come across in hotels.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oslo
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2011

As you'd expect, really.
Stayed for a couple of nights; great rooms, 5-10 mins walk from central Pool-area. Lots of healthy options for breakfast, though you could indulge in the typical beans, egg, bacon-galore at an extra cost. Actually, I'd like to know how much this would cost as it wasn't specified in the breakfast menu. (Only pricing as if you hadn't paid for B AND B).
Plum Bar nice and quiet place to relax at night. Helpful staff. Some maintenance work on facade, but made absolutely no difference to us.
I feel almost offended these hotels still choose to charge for internet use these days, I have to say, though. Typically these kinds of hotels should definetely offer such services for free (better to just add a that fiver on the booking fee in the first place).

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottinghamshire
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2011

Just popped into the Hotel for Lunch. The two course from a set menu was very reasonable which included 1/2 bottle of house wine per person. The food was very good and well presented. The staff were very friendly and helpful. will definately consider this hotel to stay in on next visit to Liverpool

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
challenger08
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2011

Stayed for two nights between Christmas and New Year. We booked three rooms for a total of five adults. We had previously booked into an alternative hotel nearby (for no reason other than we recognised the brand) and that would have cost us over £700. The promotion from Malmaison was £49 a night per room - an absolute bargain.
The service was excellent; staff helpful from the moment of booking through to check-in and departure. Rooms are large, comfortable and fully equipped. Bar is fine - more of a lounger area with drinks than a bar, but a pleasant area to relax. We only used the restaurant for breakfast - it was clean and pleasant and food was excellent, although the service was slow. This is likely to be because hot food is cooked to order rather than buffet style. Beds are large and firm and very comfortable.
Car parking is a dream - right next door to the hotel and one of the most secure I have used. Good value too.
There were a couple of minor faults - a heated towel rail in one of the bathrooms didn't work and despite informing staff, the item was not repaired and we never had any information back. Overall though, the positives significantly outweighed any negatives and we will return to this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2011

Luved this hotel cant wait to go back! Staff are friendly hotel is spotless clean rooms are gorgeous :)

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Malmaison Liverpool? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison Liverpool

Address: William Jessop Way | Princes Dock, Liverpool L3 1QZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Liverpool
#16 Business Hotel in Liverpool
#16 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
#24 Family Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison Liverpool 4*
Number of rooms: 131
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Malmaison & Hotel du Vin Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Malmaison Liverpool reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malmaison Liverpool Hotel Liverpool
Malmaison Hotel Liverpool
Liverpool Malmaison Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Malmaison Liverpool, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.