We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel really nice staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Malmaison Liverpool

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Malmaison Liverpool to your Saves list
Malmaison Liverpool
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   William Jessop Way | Princes Dock, Liverpool L3 1QZ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 99 Hotels in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great hotel really nice staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

State of the art hotel located 5min walk from tourist attraction and trendy Albert Dock area. Friendly staff, sizeable comfortable rooms with great power shower in the bathroom. Would recommend for couples.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MalmaisonLiverpool, Manager at Malmaison Liverpool, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Disco13, thank you so much for your great feedback, we are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us. Keep en eye on our upcoming packages. We are looking forward to welcoming you back in near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,562 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    770
    473
    201
    83
    35
See reviews for
101
820
36
258
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (320)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

I've stayed in this hotel about 5 times since I moved to Liverpool, and the fact that I choose to stay in a hotel in my own city should give you an idea of how amazing this hotel is.

The staff are incredibly friendly, and the purple decor gives it an air of romance.

I love,love,love the giant bath in the rooms, but bring back the old Arran Aromatics bath foam!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MalmaisonLiverpool, Manager at Malmaison Liverpool, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Debbie, Thank you for your fabulous comments. We can see that you are a frequent hotel visitor and so we appreciate that you have a good judgement on hospitality and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay. Keep an eye on our upcoming packages, perhaps Maletines on the cards?! Looking forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

We stayed here this week. Expecting that surely on the third time of staying that we would somehow not be as impressed as before maybe we were looking through rose tinted glasses as the first time we ever stayed was our wedding night last year, so carries an emotional tie ,but it's just plain faultless, the room views' food and staff which were exceptional.When we entered the restaurant I asked to be seated somewhere reasonably private to which the waiter actually moved tables and was happy about doing it, also I had mentioned that I had seen a blue cocktail that looked nice that I had seen on a movie which the waitress informed they didn't sell but suggested she ask the bartender whether he knew what it was and he didn't . But 5 minutes later she came back with this gorgeous cocktail that was made specifically for me and my wife.This hotel, the staff and everything else accompanying is fantastic and can't wait to go back

Room Tip: Pick a river view. Or a suite if possible. Also take your own wine and snacks as mini bar quite expe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MalmaisonLiverpool, Manager at Malmaison Liverpool, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Dear Danny, thank you for your amazing review of our hotel. We are extremely pleased that the service and standards of the hotel continue to satisfy you each stay, and we are also thrilled our staff went that extra mile to make cocktails just for you and your partner!! We look forward to welcoming you back to Malmaison Liverpool in the near future, maybe to try our new menu launching later this month and to try more of our delicious cocktails.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

Huge spacious apartments, with a lovely living space, Modern in decoration, blacks and white chrome and glass. Bathroom beautiful with a lovely power shower all mod cons. Huge comfy bed. With a balcony with stunning views of the docks. Perfect for a short stay and close to the city center. Staff were lovely and welcoming.

Room Tip: Apartments are perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MalmaisonLiverpool, Manager at Malmaison Liverpool, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Dear Sharmin_Haque86, Thank you for such lovely feedback. Unfortunately, we cannot take a credit for it as the apartments above the hotel belong to L3 Living. All the comments will be passed on to them. We hope we will get an opportunity to welcome you to Malmaison Liverpool in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spain
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

We stayed for ten days over the Christmas period, it was 10/10, from the reception staff, bar staff, breakfast staff, cleaners, maintenance and manager, can not fault the professional, charming and helpful way in which were treated, in a word FAULTLESS. The rooms are large and climate controlled to suit your needs, large flat screen HD TV, with amazing bed and linens, outstanding bathrooms, even the hair dryer is of a high standard. We stay in Liverpool about 3/4 times a year and have tried other hotels but this is by far the very best. We have never had such good breakfasts anywhere and served by extremely charming waiting staff. Can not wait for our next visit, well done everyone at the Mal and thank you for a wonderful Christmas.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MalmaisonLiverpool, Manager at Malmaison Liverpool, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Mr & Mrs Cole, we are extremely thrilled we have made your Christmas so memorable & special. The whole team works incredibly hard, so thank you for recognizing their professionalism and charm. We enjoyed looking after you and the family. Your faultless feedback throughout your stay made us extremely proud at what we do and we can’t wait to welcome you back again soon, if not – next Christmas. We hope you are enjoying the Spanish weather right now!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

Everything about the mal in liverpool was spot on when we stayed the one night recently.
Lovely decor throughout and classy service to match.
One downside..... The open plan wet room? Let's be honest this is hotel speak for 'disabled bog'.
I paid A little extra to have a river view and also got a plastic seat in the shower and a load of extra handles everywhere. Could have lived without it.
Note to self... If arriving late in the dark and leaving early morning.... Don't bother with a river view ;)

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MalmaisonLiverpool, Manager at Malmaison Liverpool, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Chris, Thank you for you taking your time to write a review of our hotel, we hope you enjoyed the hotel and our "classy" service to match. We are sorry for assigning an accessiable wet room when you arrived, we do have a couple of these rooms throughout the hotel varying from standard to river view. When you do visit the hotel again please let us know and we will allocate a different room on arrival. Looking forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catterick, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

Visited recently and had a lovely stay with superb mini-bar and snacks available, meal and staff where very helpful considering it was so busy. would definitely return even though there was a slightly long wait for dinner and colleagues beef on the bone was a small portion and full of fat (sent back and discounted). Parking is £10 per night available opposite, you can't miss it, although road in is a little confusing at night time. views for breakfast is dock side with plenty of fresh fruit or cooked breakfast for those that feel like it.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MalmaisonLiverpool, Manager at Malmaison Liverpool, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Dear Lynsey, Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review, we are extremely sorry for a long wait in the brasserie and we are so delighted to hear you will come back again. Looking forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Malmaison Liverpool? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison Liverpool

Address: William Jessop Way | Princes Dock, Liverpool L3 1QZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Liverpool
#16 Business Hotel in Liverpool
#16 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
#24 Family Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison Liverpool 4*
Number of rooms: 131
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Malmaison & Hotel du Vin Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Malmaison Liverpool reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malmaison Liverpool Hotel Liverpool
Malmaison Hotel Liverpool
Liverpool Malmaison Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Malmaison Liverpool, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.